International Relations


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta » Buckhead
March 4th 2012
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The biggest tankThe biggest tankThe biggest tank

Atlanta Aquarium
It's been a year since my last blog, mostly because I haven't been traveling! I've been studying International Relations at a university in Atlanta and haven't had time to leave the country. Life's brought a lot of new experiences in the last year, but none that take me abroad: until now. In about a week I'm headed to Jordan for 2 months to study Arabic, so expect more blogs!

In Atlanta I did a bit of sightseeing, but studying has taken up a lot of my time. Atlanta is a huge change from what I’m used to, especially in terms of size; even Munich wasn’t so big. With the exception of NYC, I’m not used to sightseeing in the US, but I have been to a few of Atlanta’s major tourist attractions. They have the biggest aquarium in the world in downtown Atlanta and I’ve gone three times so far. They have the usual fish, but also some really rare species like whale sharks and beluga whales. If you’re a diver, you can even pay to go scuba diving or snorkeling in the tank with the whale sharks.

Another popular attraction in Atlanta is the World of Coke, which I visited with the freshman class at the beginning of the semester. Coca-Cola’s headquarters is here in Atlanta so naturally they have an interactive museum located in downtown Atlanta devoted to all things Coke. As a “get to know eachother” activity the university rented out the whole museum for the freshman class. There was a small tour, a video on how Coke got started, and a room full of different soda dispenser’s from different continents, where you can taste sodas from China, Japan, Italy, India, New Zealand, Argentina, and Kenya (just to name a few).

Atlanta has been a great place to study and I've met people from all over the world, most importantly my beautiful girlfriend Laila, who is studying abroad in the United States. And what do you know? Now I'm finishing this lazy blog from my bedroom in Amman as I study abroad in her country. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Manta Ray back flipManta Ray back flip
Manta Ray back flip

Atlanta Aquarium
Scuba Divers in the tankScuba Divers in the tank
Scuba Divers in the tank

Atlanta Aquarium
My dormMy dorm
My dorm

yes, it's like a motel


30th July 2012

Aww so sweet Johnny! And there's more to see and do in Atlanta. Don't forget our dancing fun in downtown Atlanta! :)

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb