Florida Adventure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
March 17th 2012
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My Spring Break began at 10:30pm at the Oklahoma City Greyhound Bus Station with what I thought was going to be just an hour wait. My husband and daughter waited with me till thirty minutes before the bus to load, which should have been 11:45pm. That time came and gone as I waited I was “people watching” but that got kind of weird as the people I was watching were also watching me...creepy!! Then a bus pulled in, it wasn’t mine. It was now 12:20, 15 minutes after the scheduled time of departure. After a couple more buses arriving my bus arrived at 1:15am. That was a good thing except the bus was full of passengers, 55 total and only 11 passengers got off in Oklahoma City, there were twenty-five of us waiting. That meant there wasn’t enough room for all of us. I was thinking, “Now what?” The bus drive asked people who were sitting alone to move their bags so the bus could be filled, some people refused.

The bus drive actually kicked them off the bus for not being considerate passengers. We know had enough room to board. We boarded the bus around 1:45am and finally departed the bus station just after 2:00am. We made a scheduled stop in Fort Smith to let passengers off and on and then headed to Little Rock. We were scheduled to be in Little Rock by 6:05am but didn’t actually arrive till 7:45a.m. We departed Little Rock around 8:20am after some passengers got off and others got on. Driving through Arkansas you see lots of farm fields, swampy areas and it is very green. Today is very sunny, not sure on the temperature as I haven’t been outside. The bus itself is an older style bus and not very comfortable. I feel very claustrophobic and there isn’t much room.

Well, finally made it to Memphis, Tennessee at 11:20am and had to wait in line again. There were 28 passengers that travelled from Oklahoma City to Memphis and since we all missed our connecting bus the agency put us all first on another bus but we sat and sat and sat till we finally were called to board at 12:15pm. The bus made it’s departure at 12:45 pm. My destination has changed so I’m now headed to Nashville and then transfer buses to Atlanta. After finally arriving in Nashville I am on a new bus this time. The old buses have tight fitting seats and that is about it. the new buses have lots of leg room to stretch out, electrical outlets to plug in phones and laptops, seat belts and wider windows. I love it. So haven’t slept since Friday morning when I went to school for teacher day so I am a bit sleepy. But will change buses again in a couple hours in Atlanta at 11pm. don’t know how long the lay over will be but I will keep you posted.

Arrived in Atlanta, Georgia a bought 11:30pm. Talk about tired, I’m exhausted. I’ve spent more time waiting in lines and not being able to leave the line or I’ll lose my spot than time spent traveling on the bus. Was waiting for another bus, they had to find another driver. I was to be on the 12:01am bus but because my new ticket was dated for 12:01 on March 19 the lady wouldn’t let me on the bus. So, I have been very patient and haven’t complained but now was the time. I was going to get on them. I LEFT the line and went to the customer service desk. I told them I was one of the passengers from Oklahoma City who’s bus has put me late to all my stops and that a ticket agent changed my ticket and said not worry about what the date is only go by the time and that each stop will put the Oklahoma City group on the bus first. The lady told and I quote, “We don’t do that, we have never done that, go get back in line and wait your turn like everyone else.” Oh no, that didn’t make me happy I asked for a supervisor and she said the supervisor will tell me the same thing. I am thinking, no she won’t!. The customer service lady could be seen talking to a short little lady and then I was waved over to them. I walked through the groups to them and the supervisor asked for my ticket. She said “You were on the late bus from Oklahoma City?” I said, “Yes”. The customer service lady spoke up and said, “I told her that it doesn’t matter what bus or how late she has to wait the same as everyone else.” The supervisor said, “You’re wrong, to the lady.” The look on her face was priceless. The Supervisor said, “You should’ve been pre-boarded on the 12:01 bus that was waiting her specifically for your group from Oklahoma City." I was taken to the front of the line and the supervisor told the customer service lady she would talk to her later.

We finally boarded the bus about 1:45am. I settled down trying for a nap. YOu close your eyes but you still hearing everything around you. My feet, ankles, and lower calves are swollen and hurt. My destination is so near I can see the bridge we cross from St. Petersburg to Bradenton. Arrived in Bradenton about 1:10pm. Was so good to see Mom, Bob and Kevin. We went lunch and then went to their house. We freshened up and then headed out to the island, Anna Maria Island, Holmes Beach, to see friends of my mom's, who happen to be from Hart, Michigan and come to find out I went through school with their daughter.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb