Trying to leave!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
June 7th 2006
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dad ChillinDad ChillinDad Chillin

What we do best, play around on the computer.
I am writing this first entry as a transition. A transition from the life I have lived and loved in Washington, DC consecutively from Sept. 1, 2004 - May 21, 2006 - with only small vacation breaks to Mexico, Europe and home in FL. Now it is time to move on. Breaking my comfort zone.

I have scoped out and come into contact with friends who will be in Nicaragua: staying with a friend of my former professor, contacted Aygul and Eliza (Gtown 09 and 08), know a friend from Student Campaign for Child Survival who will be volunteering as a medical helper in Esteli, the town just south of the town I will be staying in, Somoto.

Map of Nicaragua

Right now I am procrastinating by creating this blog. But really I must be packing!

So far I have

* bought a digital camera
* made as much money on the beach as I can
* begun to "organize" my stuff that I will take with me
* purchased a whole medicine cabinet
* realized I will have no health insurance after August 14
* planned my first week's lodging
* ordered Stata so that I
Sunset in Cocoa, FLSunset in Cocoa, FLSunset in Cocoa, FL

Just thought I'd show you what I'll be missing for 7 months... well, actually longer
can work on my thesis research from my own computer
* got puppets, books and flashcards for the kids
* said goodbye in one form or another to about 75%!o(MISSING)f my friends
* made plans to get to the airport tomorrow with my cousin, Sarah.




Well, if that sounds good, then you don't know me. I've still got to


Besides that, I am ready to go. Who knows who I will meet or what I will learn. My first stop will be Grenada, Nicaragua where I will stay with the family of Reinaldo - my professor's friend. He is currently working on reports for Save the
PackingPackingPacking

What I need to learn to do!
Children and in the past has written about child labor in the Dominican Republic for the International Labor Office. He is working very hard on a report right now. I will try to learn as much as I can from him while I am at his house for the week.

Until Nicaragua - have a good time, guys.

Amanda


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb