Chapter 31 Back Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
February 1st 2011
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Family RoomThe Family RoomThe Family Room

Not only was I sorting and packing, but also organizing and pricing for the yard sale.
October 11--I arrived in Interlachen and pulled into the yard about 6:00 pm. I just missed Allison and her mother, Joy. They had been doing some packing and cleaning in the house, but had to get back to Gainesville for Joy to get to her evening job. Allison has been living in Gainesville for about three months due to poor health and needing to live closer to her work, so the house has been unoccupied for that time. She had not been able to keep it up and there was also a lot of things I had left behind. Even though we had a big yard sale before I left, I couldn't believe how much was still in it—some hers, a lot mine. Allison had told me the air conditioning was broken, so that was one of many things that needed to be fixed.

October 12-30: I started cleaning, sorting and packing. I contacted a real estate agent who came out to look at the place. Due to the slow real estate market and the depressed area in this county, they told me I could not expect to get nearly as much as I think the house is worth, so
Just the KitchenJust the KitchenJust the Kitchen

Hazardous duty just getting around!
I decided to rent it out for at least a year, if I can find a good renter. That, of course, is the trick! I called an air-conditioning repair company and got that fixed.

I set a date of November 5 and 6 for a yard sale and told myself what didn't sell would either be taken to the dump or the thrift shop. My friend and neighbor, Maureen, her son George and his daughter Rebecca were big helps in cleaning and going through things. It was an emotional time for me. Arnie had built the house, so his personality is stamped on every inch. We spent 20 years there. I had a hard time parting with some of the things. What I couldn't decide on at first, we put in the back room to go through later. I packed some boxes and shipped them to Susan out in Colorado for storage and to Tarena in Dallas. I procrastinated too long to get my flu shot and came down with it the last week of the month!

October 30: Donna from Helping Hands and St. Luc Noel, a pastor from Haiti who is my friend were here for
Missing Man TableMissing Man TableMissing Man Table

An emotion provoking display for deceased military personnel in the museum near Green Cove Springs, FL/
two days. I went over to see them this evening, and gave light hugs because of my flu. They looked exhausted, having driven from Minnesota. St. Luc is speaking tomorrow at the Nazarene Church.

October 31: I was too sick to go to church, but Maureen went and reported back on the service. She met Donna and St. Luc and told them I why I wasn't there. They sent a message back that they would come by before they left. They didn't get here until about 9 pm and still had to drive to Miami for St. Luc's flight back to Haiti. Donna would then drive back to Minnesota! God bless them for their energy and dedication!

November 1-6: What a frenzy this week, trying to get ready for the yard sale. Unsure of the weather, I didn't plan to set up too much outside. During this time, I found a renter for the house. A single mother named Wendy lives in a single wide trailer and wants a bigger place. Her family lives in the area and she knows George and Maureen. She is really excited about renting and has been helping me clean up. George has
Castle on the RoadCastle on the RoadCastle on the Road

This castle building is located on A1A near St. Augustine, FL. The sign reads "Creatd as an original landscape-sculpture in remembrance of Jesus Christ."
also been helping moving the big stuff. Maureen and another friend, Di, helped me during the sale, not to mention buying their share!!! Allison came over earlier in the week and loaded some of her belongings. By the end of the sale about 80%!w(MISSING)as gone. I got enough money to cover the repair costs on the AC and some left over to get a new(er) wall oven for the house.

Bootsie—Boy, there were a lot of people here the last two days. Looks like Marty is selling everything! I hope she doesn't sell me!

November 7: I went to church and did nothing the rest of the day! Recuperating from the yard sale.

November 8: Back to work again. Resorting what is left. One of the workers for the Methodist Church Thrift Shop picked up a truck load!

November 9: This morning I spoke to the United Methodist Women at their meeting. I talked about Haiti and the problems the people are having regarding lack of food and other necessary items still needed after the earthquake and the heavy tropical rains this hurricane season. I also spoke about the NOMAD organization and handed out
Pelicans at the ferryPelicans at the ferryPelicans at the ferry

I took this shot from the RV while we were on the ferry to Little Talbot Island. Bootsie slept through it all.
brochures.

November 10-18: Still working on cleaning the house. Now that it is mostly empty, we can get to areas that need work. Wendy and her friends are painting two of the rooms. She plans to move some furniture in before Thanksgiving and make the complete move by Dec. 9. I checked on getting insurance on the house. George will have to build railings on the steps before I can get coverage.

On the 13th Maureen and I went to an open house and wine tasting at a local winery which opened after I left. Their wine was fruity and slightly sweet. I liked it and bought two bottles. While there I saw Nian, an artist friend who makes exquisite miniature clay flowers. I have bought quite a few for gifts and several for myself. She even tried to teach me how to do it, but, of course, I could never make them as beautifully as she does. She invited me over for dinner at a later date. It was good to see her again.

November 19-21: Maureen had wanted to see what it was like to be in an RV, so we took off to Little
Sunset at Little Talbot IslandSunset at Little Talbot IslandSunset at Little Talbot Island

We had a beautiful day and warm weather.
Talbot Island State Park, just north of Jacksonville. On the way there, we stopped to visit a small military museum near Green Cove Springs. It turns out there had been a fleet of ships anchored in the St. Johns River there during the Second World War. I never knew that. We talked quite awhile with the men who volunteered to work at the museum. There was one display that pulled on the heartstrings. It was a table set for dinner with an empty chair pulled up to it. A poem over the table honored the soldiers who would never eat again.

We drove on to St. Augustine and up A1A to Jacksonville Beach, passing the famous World Golf Village and the Sawgrass Golf Course. I thought of Arnie. When we got to the Navy Base at Mayport, we had to cross a ferry to get to Little Talbot island. That was a new experience for me in the RV. There were several dozen pelicans all around the ferry docks, sunning themselves. I got some great close-up pics.

Bootsie—We were floating on the water? Nobody told me! I didn't see any birds either! The things I miss!
Starfish on the beachStarfish on the beachStarfish on the beach

In all my beach walks, this was the first time I ever saw a starfish!

The park was nice but we were disappointed that the camp spaces were across the highway from the beach and they closed the gates to the beach at 5:00! Since there was a full moon and beautiful weather, we had planned to come back for a night walk along the beach. Since that would involve a longer walk and crossing a busy highway in the dark, it didn't happen. Still, it was a nice get-away and break from house cleaning!

November 22-24: Days falling into a pattern—get up, clean house, etc. I am starting to box up the stuff to carry to Dallas in the RV.

November 25: Happy Thanksgiving. Maureen invited me to her family's Thanksgiving in Jacksonville. It was a typical family holiday with lots of good food, guys watching football, kids playing. It was a beautiful day after some cold weather. Maureen wasn't feeling well, though and everybody worried about her. The family made me feel right at home and, as usual, I ate too much. I let Rebecca use the camera and she took lots of good pictures. We pretended we were doing a magazine layout on food.

Bootsie—Humph! Marty talks about
Two left feet!Two left feet!Two left feet!

A very curious set of prints in the sand. We didn't figure out how it was done!
big meals and overeating. All I got was the same old canned food and it came late at that! What is wrong with this picture?

November 26: Maureen, Rebecca and I drove the RV down to Ft. McCoy to a Native American Powwow. Hard to believe that growing up in Oklahoma, then traveling all over the Southwest, I have never seen a real powwow! Another serendipity moment happened as we drove into the campground: a group of Escapees were having a rally at the powwow! We got invited to their pot luck supper and made some new friends. After supper we strolled around the vendors booths and they sat down to wait for the evenings dancing. The regalia were as colorful as the ones the Brule dancers wore in their show in Branson. It was fascinating to see all of the various tribes doing a variety of dance rituals. The pictures turned out dark, of course, since it was night. Too bad, because I couldn't do the colors justice.

November 27: We slept in and didn't go to the Escapee breakfast. The Grand Entry parade and ceremonies didn't start until noon so we had an easy morning. Rebecca
Manatee MailboxManatee MailboxManatee Mailbox

One of several interesting mailboxes along Hwy A1A.
found out that one of the girls she goes to school with is participating in the dancing brought her over to meet us. We watched all the parade and dancing, took more pictures then headed back home.

November 28-30—Maureen and I visited the Nazarene Church on Sunday. She thinks she may start going there. It is a small church and we were made to feel very welcome.
Wendy is till moving furniture into the house while I am still cleaning and sorting.

Bootsie—We have been parked at this same place for a long time. I am pretty comfortable here. Marty gets lots of company and they all come to see me. I get a lot of petting and I love it!! A young girl (Becky) visits and plays with me. I do get a little impatient with her though, because she wants to hold and pet me and I just want to play!

December 1- I had dinner with Nian and her husband. She cooked a wonderful shrimp dish that I ate too much of, then begged to take the leftovers home. They are a wonderful couple and I enjoyed the evening.

December 2-5:
Chowing DownChowing DownChowing Down

We were lucky to catch a pot luck dinner of the Escapees RV club at the powwow!
My last week in Florida. I finished all the packing and stuffing into the RV. I am really loaded now. I will unload in Dallas where some will be left with Danette for storage and some left until I head out to Colorado. Wendy is completely moved in, now and appears to love the house. I believe she will take good care of it.

Since most of the work is done, Becky and George decided to play. They borrowed some four-wheelers and raced around the grassy pond area behind the house. It looked like a lot of fun, but I didn't give it a try. Watching them bounce around gave me second thoughts about my neck!!

I plan to leave tomorrow and head to Dallas. At this point I don't know when I will be back to Interlachen. I have found that I still have some good friends here, though and want to come back to see them.












Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Powwow at nightPowwow at night
Powwow at night

The dancers' regalia was very colorful and they were very talented.
Bird DancerBird Dancer
Bird Dancer

One of the many great dancers at the Powwow.
Hoop Dancer and SonHoop Dancer and Son
Hoop Dancer and Son

They start teaching them at an early age! This little one loved being out on the field with his dad!
New RailingsNew Railings
New Railings

I had to have railings built on the front and back steps in order to rent the house.
Father and DaughterFather and Daughter
Father and Daughter

Loving those fourwheelers!


5th February 2011

Always enjoy the photos
It must have been a bit bittersweet to be back home. And yes isn't it amazing how much "stuff" we seem to have despite getting rid of a lot...I could stand to de-clutter more myself..never ending. Love the powwow photos :-)
9th February 2011

Marty, good to hear from you. we've been wondering how you were doing. Durham & I have traded our big coach for a 31 ft class C. It seems rather small but I feel sure we can get used to it. Things have happened so that we haven't been out in it yet but hope to go for an over nighter the end of the week. Safe travels God bless you Elaine & Durham.
12th February 2011

Always enjoy the photos from Melanie
Yeah, it was bittersweet and yes we do accumulate the clutter!!! Glad to hear from you, even if I do take a long time to answer!

Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb