long day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
January 11th 2011
Published: January 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We left the motel early to avoid traffic. when we turned off the main road we had a nice ride. We wanted to go to Ichetucknee State Park. To get there we rode 48.5 miles with a following wind. The weather didn't get over 44'. This was our longest day so far. We made it to High Springs for lunch and ate at this nice sandwich shop. While there a man by the name of Sammy offered up a nice prayer for our journey and safety. While eating lunch we saw two cyclist with bags riding by. They stopped in and we visited with them for a while. Bob asked how much they were riding each day and he said " we haven't done 75 miles yet". We were quick to state we haven't done 75 miles either. Ordered a new computer for my bike. My old one was giving some interesting numbers, I am going faster than it shows ect. I ordered it next day air with UPS to be shipped to the post office where I will be getting my care package mom is sending. My package is there from mom and hopefully so will this. When we were getting close to our camping site we found a sign stating we were only 1.6 miles away. What a sight! Bob and Mary rented a cabin and Sam and I got to camp for free. The showers were hot but the bathroom was cold. This is the first night Sam and I camped. The temp went down to 29'. My bag is rated for 30', I slept with my long johns and hot socks. It was a little cool getting up. All in all things went well.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb