Day 75 Live Oak to Ginnie Springs 50 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
December 4th 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The devils eye springs 23 secs
Dec 2. A big day like yesterday ensures a great nights sleep. Today I will take it a bit easier and set my sights on some campsites around the Itchetucknee Springs State Park, its sunny again but the forecast is for a sharp frost in this area. I dont mind the cold so long as it does'nt rain while I'm camping. The sun may be shinning but temperatures remain in single figures (celsius) so I have to cycle with fleece and jacket which is uncomfortable as you soon get soaked with sweat. I am back on the ACA route which takes me through some interesting back roads and trails and leads me to the Ginnie Springs campsite. This is an area of great natural beauty with abundant wildlife. The hot springs are numerous and flow into the Santa Fe river under a blanket of mist caused by the temperature differential to the sub zero air around them. These springs with their crystal clear waters and caves are popular with divers, but few people are around as its midweek and off season. I see only two other campers on the 200 acre site.
At night the temperature plummets as predicted but my tent and sleeping bag are up to the job and I manage to stay warm enough to get a good nights sleep. Its tempting to get into the warm 72F waters for a nice soak but the thought of how cold it would be on leaving discourages me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



6th December 2008

watch out for vampires!!!!!
Eerily beautiful video and pics....................................
11th December 2008

Enjoyed your journey
and am now taking good care of your trailer! I will send you pictures of its rebirth and continued journeys in the states. Thanks again and happy traills!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb