Day 74 Tallahassee to Live Oak 89 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
December 3rd 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dec 1st. I have only about 250 to 300 miles to cover to reach the Atlantic depending on which route I take and I had hoped to get into St Augustine by Friday the 5th. These plans were hatched before the enforced three day lay over in Tallahassee. I am positively bursting to get back on the bike after doing little cycling over the weekend so I am pleased to see the sun is shining today and as a bonus the winds are favourable. I decide to take a couple of shortcuts from the ACA route and set an ambitious target of Live Oak, nearly 90 mile down highway 90.
Its a great day for cycling and I am soon whizzing along at 15mph, the pleasant towns of Monticello , Greenville and Madison provide handy quick stops for coffee, sodas and peanutbutter snacks. I get into Live Oak an hour before darkness and could probably have done another hour to make the magic 100 mile day, but the lack of a suitable place to stop 10 miles from here convinces me to call it a day, it is after all the furthest distance I have covered in one go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

GreenvilleGreenville
Greenville

Boyhood home of Ray Charles
The Suwannee RiverThe Suwannee River
The Suwannee River

We know a song about that


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb