Day 70 Chattchahoochee to Tallahassee 40 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
November 29th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nov 27 Thanksgiving day ! Thanks to the change of time zone I'm am not awake till 8.00am though for me it is still really 7.00am. My first impression of thanksgiving is a procession of hunters, many with kids turning up at the garage in camouflage while I'm having my coffee and danish. I have seen many posters advertising turkey shoots so there could be some synergy there if dad and the kids go out and bag a turkey which mom cooks for dinner. Great roads again and little wind make it a pleasant ride through Gretna and on towards Quincy. On the way a guy in a pick-up coming towards me screeches to a halt and runs across the road waving me down, he informs me that in Quincy I would be most welcome to avail myself of a free turkey thanksgiving dinner and even offers to give me a lift there. In Quincy I pass the place where the dinners are being dished out but having just digested my danish decide to pass on the offer. It was a nice thought all the same.
I come into Tallahassee along the fl90 and am confronted with a couple of dozen car dealerships with very full lots. There are a few motels with no internet and I decide to stop for coffee at a gas station to figure out where I can find a good budget motel to wait out the rain. The guy serving at the station engages me in conversation and gives me the coffee on the house. It is not long before I locate the Lafayette motel where Mrs Patel makes me most welcome and I have settled in.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



1st December 2008

GO EELS!!!GO
Helo Sir. You don’t know me but I’m a member of the Augustine Eels squirt team and coach Smith said I was to tell you that we are in the Florida Augustine under 14’s girls regional hockey final at the time of you finishing your big journey. I hope you raised a lot of money because coach Smith said that if we could follow your example we would have the new showering cabin in no time! Coach Smith says the improvement of our play is undeniable and our energy is awesome! The Eels will face A teams during the second half of the season, which begins Dec. 8th. We are all looking forward to the rest of the season, with great excitement. GO EELS!!!! if you want we can send you some pics of the team as coach has hundreds . I hope you have really enjoyed my home state and I’m sure we can send you off with a real high if you come and watch us play. I better go now as coach says I am hurting his knee so, so long and good luck. Ps what’s all the comments about trains and hovercraft sauce?

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb