Day 69 Marianna to Chattahoochee 28 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
November 28th 2008
Published: November 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nov 26 I aim to be in Tallahassee by the time the rain comes again on Friday and the only viable camping area between here and there is in Chattahoochee on the banks of Lake Seminole and the Apalachecola river. Its a short journey so there is no need to set off early. If they were not closed on Tuesday and Wednesday I would have visited Florida Caverns State Park. The journey today is through thickly forested terrain but on good roads with decent shoulders. I come across an accident on the way where a pick up has managed to bring down some power cables, resulting in temporary closure of the road, the cops let me pass though since the power has been cut. There are two Campsites near Chattahoochee, one of which is run by the army and is just over the state line in Georgia, I pay a brief visit there but opt for the Florida site on the river-bank. There is no one around and when I call the site number the guy says, just pitch your tent buddy, someone might come and collect the $7.00 if they dont it is a blessing. No-one comes around. The campsite is very picturesque and sirene, the river perhaps deceptively so as there are warning signs regarding the presence of reptilian swimming companions. I treat myself to some deep fried shrimp in town and move my watch an hour forward as on crossing the Apalachecola I am now in Eastern Time. In town I am advised that accomodation might be difficult in Tallahassee as there is a big college football game on Saturday and there will be a lot of buzz in the town this weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb