One more hour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
September 24th 2004
Published: September 24th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Alright I’m almost packed. I still have an hour to go so I’m not freaking out yet. But when you are about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime you want to be sure that everything's in order.

For instance: I was at quite a crossroads as to what attire should be worn at the Oktoberfest. Now of course we could go like any other American tourist, jeans, t-shirt and a baseball cap - but I’m the guy who wears a kilt on St. Patty’s day so the Old Navy special wasn’t going to cut it.

So to that end, I’m at my parents house last night discussing the trip and picking up a few things from their place, and while musing my dad overheard me talking about Lederhosen and how I wish I had a pair to wear so that I could really blend in with the Oktoberfest crowd. No kidding, dad says hey I bought a pair of lederhosen 20 years ago and they’ve been in the closet since I was last in Germany.

AMAZING. But then I thought - of course my dad would have a pair - who doesn’t these days - especially globetrotting wanderlust victims like my dad. Now these lederhosen are the real deal. All leather with the suspenders and the little insignia which adjoins the suspenders with a deer carved in the middle from ivory. Heck yeah - I’m going to be sporting the genuine article.

I’ll be sure to post some pictures of me fulfilling my Germanic destiny - Lederhosen and all. I’ll be the one in the picture next to the beautiful girl in jeans and a t-shirt, wearing a baseball cap that says “My Boyfriend’s a DORK”.

Cheers!


Advertisement



25th September 2004

Where the pics?
take some pics with treo and uplink bud-Mark
27th September 2004

hi there kidds
hey guys, i am so excited for you two. it is going to be so much fun. drink on drinkas! and Jizzle my Nizzle, take care of that little purser girl. -kizzle

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb