My Super Bowl Table


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tampa
February 6th 2021
Published: February 7th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Since my team, the San Francisco Forty Niners are not in the Super Bowl, I decided I might as well enjoy some good food. And maybe some special wine. One simple item I always enjoy is guacamole. Another are soft cheeses, like Brie and camembert. My wine is usually a sparkling wine, usually brut rose' from either Domaine Carneros or Aimery in Loire. And something to hold me until the heavy duty food (barbecued steak) is ready, like a plate of Bobby Chinn noodles (pictured).

But for the rest of America, since we cannot have parties, the volume of Super Bowls past might be a little different this year. Foods particular to Tampa and KC might be fish and barbecue, respectively. I have been to both cities, and though I enjoyed both, I give the nod the KC barbecue.

SB Sunday is second only to Thanksgiving for total food consumption. Pizza is the top snack or food item, as one in every seven people order pizza on SB Sunday. Naturally, chicken is the second choice, and wings seem to dominate. More than 100 million pounds of chicken wings are consumed on SB Sunday. I wonder what 11.2 billion pounds of potato chips look like. And 8.2 million pounds of tortilla chips.

Just for kicks, add 4 million pounds of pretzels. My favorite, guacamole totals 8 million pounds. Add 3.8 million pounds of popcorn, 10 million pounds of ribs, and 2 million pizzas. But what about the adult beverages?

A mere 325 million gallons of beer are consumed on SB Sunday. This amounts to about $1.5 billion in beer alone. The most popular beer is Coors Light, followed by Bud Light and Miller Lite.

Females account for 47% of viewers on SB Sunday. And 57% of the women will drink wine. In total, over $600 million will be spent on wine. I wonder how much on champagne, unless they save it for the winning team.

Whatever your favorites, keep in mind this important fact. Whatever you are enjoying at home is about ten times better than anything at the stadium. Take my word for it. Spend your money on a good Super Bowl souvenir, something that will last longer than yet another hot dog and beer!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb