It's that time again - Girls Road Trip 2017 #staugustineorbust


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tallahassee
February 24th 2017
Published: February 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Savannah, GA trip 2015Savannah, GA trip 2015Savannah, GA trip 2015

Savannah, GA trip 2015
Hey everybody! It's that time again. Girls road trip 2017!!! Whoop, whoop!

This year we are going to St. Augustine, Florida. It is the perfect spot because it is almost the same distance from Tallahassee and Wellington (where Heather lives).

AS I have done in the past, let me introduce the ladies to ya!

This year we have Heather, Kay and Del.

I have previously introduced you to Heather and Del in the Savannah post (https://www.travelblog.org/North-America/United-States/Florida/Tallahassee/blog-907438.html) so I will try to tell you a little bit more about them in this post.

Heather

It is just so hard to believe that Heather and I have known each other for over 20 years (we are creeping up on 25 actually). We met in college and even though we haven't lived in the same city since 1994 our friendship has lasted through the years.

I think we are lucky to have all of this technology in this day and age. I believe that even if we did not have cell phones and Facebook that Heather and I would still have the friendship and share the same bond.

With our crazy schedules of running kids around,
Cheryl, Heather and OliviaCheryl, Heather and OliviaCheryl, Heather and Olivia

Cheryl, Heather and Olivia at Heather's 40th birthday
being wife and mother and work we always make time for each other.

I'm looking forward to seeing Heather's face and sitting on the porch sipping coffee each morning. Oh, and enjoying the St. Augustine nightlife! 😊



Del

Del and I have been friends for going on 11 years I believe. We met at daycare. Her youngest (Femi) and my oldest (Kirby) were in the same class.

The funniest story that I have told several times over and over is when Del told me what Kirby wanted to be when he grew up.

At the daycare all of the children were asked what they wanted to be when they grew up. The teacher wrote each persons name and placed the career beside their name on the wall. You could see the list when you walked out the door but somehow I always overlooked it. So, Del tells me that the friends in the classroom want to be fireman or policemen, etc. My Kirby stated, 'when I grow up I want to be chocolate.'

You can take that to mean that he really likes chocolate candy but I really think it meant that
DelDelDel

Del and Olivia
he wanted to be the same color as his best friend Femi. God love that kid.

Kirby calls Del 'second mom' and him and Femi are such buddies.

It has been so nice to see these boys grow up together. Next year they will be in high school together. My, my time flies.

I'm looking forward to all the conversations that Del and I will have over the weekend. She is just so easy to talk to and puts a perspective on things that makes you look at things in a different light.



Kay

We met Kay 12 years ago when we bought our first house in Arbor Hill. Kay lived across the street from us and at the time her son Daniel was about 7 years old.

Daniel has been a good big brother to Kirby. They used to play in the yard in the evenings and Daniel would go to the park or on camping trips with us.

Kay has attended most every birthday party, family occasion and has been with us through the highs and lows. It's pretty much expected for her to attend Easter, Christmas, etc.
Kay and OliviaKay and OliviaKay and Olivia

Kay and Olivia

We have been on several out of town trips together. My favorite was when we went to Stone Mountain. We relaxed by the pool, walked to the top of Stone Mountain, rode the train, saw the laser light show and had a great weekend together with Kirby and Daniel.

Kay hasn't been able to travel these past couple of years and I am glad she is able to get back on the road with us.

Looking forward to walking around downtown St. Augustine and going through all the shops along the way with Kay.

---

This time we chose to rent a cottage near downtown St. Augustine through Arbnb. So far the owner has been very responsive. The reviews are great so I have high hopes.

We have reservations for dinner Friday night. We will do a little shopping Saturday morning and in the afternoon we will go on a food and wine tour. I am very excited by this because I have never been on this type of tour. We will explore the nightlife Saturday night and then Sunday morning we have brunch reservations.

It's going to be a fun-filled weekend of walking, eating, drinking and friendship.

Hope y'all enjoy the ride with us.

O.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb