Catch Up Time


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » St Petersburg
October 8th 2006
Published: October 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I waved goodbye to Orlando, scoffing to myself that I was off to see the real America, unlike these naïve holiday makers.

Heading for Tampa Bay down the Interstate, excitement came my way in the shape of a fire truck; sirens blaring, zooming up behind me. Only the real drama came from me scrabbling to find my camera in time to capture this Kodak moment. I clicked, the fire truck passed and everyone was a winner.

Breaking through the city limits of Tampa armed with my book of discount coupons and a need for a cheap motel. Pplanning on staying at Treasure Island, a small Gulf Coast facing strip of land East of Tampa Bay. Between looking online and at my magazine I came up with the Satellite Motel which was the best value at 45 bucks plus the tax for the night

I was soon outside the Motel in question. Only problem was it looked crap, and crap in a bad smelly way, not in an American run-down-but-appealing way. Yet again I’d fallen for photographs flattering reality, so it was with a heavy heart I kept driving. After a drive right and down up the main street of Treasure Island, I wasn’t too impressed so decided to head over the causeway to St Petes Beach.

I went into a Motel that caught my eye and asked for the best "walk in rate". The strange lady behind the desk who I presumed was the owner offered me "a lovely room with good views of the man-a-tees" for 59 bucks plus tax. Not being exactly sure what man-a-tees were, or if I was bothered if I could see them, I explained my budget was 50 bucks and asked if she could do a deal. At this she took great offence and started raging and telling me I was lucky to be offered the price of 59 bucks. I made my excuses and left.

About 500 yards up the road I pulled into a Best Western hotel and started the spiel again... Before I knew it I'd handed the Mastercard over and agreed to pay 76 bucks plus tax per night and I would be staying for 2 nights. So much for my budget travel.

After unpacking, I walked the short distance down to the beach and went for a paddle, trying to ignore the flocks of birds all around me. Squeliching my way back to the hotel I heard music coming from the beach bar. A local covers band were playing so I grabbed a bar stool, ordered a Bacardi and Coke and watched the sunset, all the time lauging at the drunken yanks dancing.


**********************************************
I AM VERY TIRED, GRAMMER AND SPELLING IS CRAP
**********************************************


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb