Hello World............... Well Orlando


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
October 7th 2006
Published: October 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=3-XlsRHqtug]
Only Thing I'll Be Humping AroundOnly Thing I'll Be Humping AroundOnly Thing I'll Be Humping Around

Serves as a handy inventory for any would be thieves and muggers
Video clip - click to the left


Woke up alone in room 625 of the Rodeway Inn, the cheapest motel on International Drive I could find. I booked for 2 nights thinking that a couple of days in a familiar place would be a gentle break into solo travel.

I completely unpacked my bag and made a list of everything I still needed to buy, then it was off to Walmart.

Without doubt the best thing for sale in Walmart is an inflatable snow globe that has Santa locked inside. The whole thing is worked by an air pump that circulates snow inside it, it looked so cool and was a bargain at only about 80 quid.

I controlled my expenditure though and bought only the essentials; a mobile, insect repellant and 4 packets of Chips Ahoy!

My afternoon was spent messing about online setting up cheap ways to keep in touch, and checking out motels for the coming weeks. A few beers in my room were sunk before a trip to the hotel bar, just making happy hour - 4 beers for 5 bucks - a skintflint's dream.

Staggering up to my room I heard the thunder rolling in and spent the next couple of hours watching it roll past from West to East, fumbling in my drunken stupour with the camera trying to capture it.

And that was about it. My first day flying solo and I managed to stay alive.... things can only get worse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Pure Ming CourtPure Ming Court
Pure Ming Court

One for Zander


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb