Reflections on a great trip


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 28.1758, -80.5903

We left Apex, NC this morning at 6 AM and 77 degrees and headed south. This was the longest driving day yet. We arrived in Satellite Beach at 5:30 PM. We would have been here sooner but for a few hick-ups along the way...an over-crowded Subway Shop, which cost us 45 minutes, and an accident in Jacksonville (not ours), which had traffic tied up for about an hour. As a matter of fact, we saw a lot of accidents today. It appears people were driving too fast in the rain. Yes, I said rain. All day long my head was in Florida, anxious for some long-needed sunshine. But it was not to be. The weather brought us a lot of rain. Fortunately we were not one of the casualties.

So, this odyssey is completed. We were gone for 30 days. It took us across the country to 25 states and Canada. Steve drove the entire way…10,000 miles (he should be very proud). We stayed in 24 different hotels (I should be proud…those who know me well, know what a physical challenge that is for me). We visited 8 national parks, a national monument and a national memorial. And we arrived home in good spirits and happy to be back, but planning yet another trip for next year.

As for my goals…

I wanted to go to all of the contiguous states I had yet to visit. Goal accomplished. I have now been to 49 states, many of them more than once. Hawaii is the only one left.

I wanted to do some wining in Oregon and Washington…goal not met. We didn't do any tasting at all!!!! Those who often share a bottle of wine with us will be surprised by that. But we were so wrapped up in the beautiful scenery, we opted to spend all of our time seeing that, rather than the inside of a bunch of tasting rooms.

Regrets…NONE. It was a fabulous trip. This country that we live in is just a feast for the eyes. And the secret to enjoying it is simply to look at it. Ride with your eyes outside of the window. Pay attention and enjoy.

Does it feel good to be home? You better believe it.

I want to thank all of you for following us on this trip. I enjoyed writing the blog entries every night and I hope you all enjoyed reading them. Til next year…

Advertisement



1st July 2013

I am glad you are home safe and sound. I enjoyed the pictures and the wonderful description of your trip without having to do any of the driving. You need to add Hawaii to your list. I lived there for three years and it is a beautiful pl
ace to see. Welcome home!!
1st July 2013

Thanks, Gail. I enjoyed writing it. It is rewarding when people tell me they have enjoyed it.
2nd July 2013

Glad you are home safely and had a good trip. I am already missing my morning fix of travel and scenery before work. It definitely made every day seem like a mini trip before work. Thanks for all the effort you put in and to Steve for dr
iving the tour!
2nd July 2013

Glad you enjoyed it. I enjoyed writing it.
2nd July 2013

Jackie - I am glad that the three of you had a good time and are home, safe and sound. I enjoyed following your journey, even though I was behind much of the time by a few days. You saw some places I would love to see. Art

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0965s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb