Palm Beach for Thanksgiving...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Palm Beach
November 25th 2023
Published: December 3rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Second stop of this little multi-trip, I'm flying into West Palm Beach for Thanksgiving.

I'm actually only posting this after having spent a week on and under the sea out of Palm Beach, but you'll have to wait that I sort out all my pictures for this special blog!

USA close all over the place for Thanksgiving. So I was more than happy that landing after 1pm, the hotel shuttle was still operating. I'm staying for my first night in a pretty nice hotel right in the middle of Downtown West Palm Beach. I dropped my bags and embarked for a nice 2-3 hours walk around West as well as actual Palm Beach.

Well, this area is truly different from Austin. Let's admit it, it's also one of the most expensive zip code to live in the States. You know, just few miles away from where I sleep tonight live a guy that I don't fancy much, the 45th President of the United States! Let's not go into politics.

Here wealthy people are also pedestrians! It's actually a fun experience as people are saying hi when you walk by them! Civilization or education? You call it as you want, but I felt the same only on Harbour Island back in June this year! I could belong here easily, minus the few millions you need just to mingle around here! Huge smile!

My dinner was a private affair with a pizza from the downstairs trendy restaurant and my last bottle of wine for quite a while! I had no intention to be seating on my own on Thanksgiving dinner, specially as it doesn't have much meaning for the European I am.

Next day, on Black Friday, I'm renting a car. Drove all the way to the madness of Black Friday at Sawgrass Mills Oultet. It's a first for me, won't do it again on such a day. Well, no need to admit here that I indulge over the day with some retail therapy! Yes, and this included a little stop to stock on Peruvian grocery! I left Bali as light as I could, and as usual, on theway back home bags are going solid in seize and weight!



I'm back for the night in West Palm Beach, but as today I have a car, the hotel as nice as the one last night! It's Saturday, and I drove this morning to check where the liveaboard boat is docked. Interesting point, you just need to drive 4 or 5 miles North of West Palm beach to re-enter the crack world! Yes, and this is still into actual Palm Beach. What a weird world!



Happy to have enjoyed a pretty quiet Thanksgiving. I had a last mission after returning the rental car and take the local bus ride back to my new home for a week on and below the water. The mission is a regular one for me while being in Southern Florida, I call having a cubano sandwich! Mission accomplished, ready to head to the seas!



I'm coming back soon with few more blogs! I just need to sort out tons of pictures while still being between few planes! Travel safe!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb