Austin, right before Thanksgiving...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
November 23rd 2023
Published: November 24th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I'm back on the road for a short three weeks, and not really a short trip for this little pre-Christmas trip. My first stop is one of the hippier places in the States that I haven't visited yet. I spent two days in Austin!

Bali to Austin is not a short hop, and this is just the first stop of an interesting trip. I left Bali on a full flight to Taipei before connecting in premium economy to LAX. Eva air seats in premium economy are just a solid bargain that I could become nearly a regular. Point to note, sadly ANA doesn't fly to Bali yet! Food offering was better than last time, but the key here is the seat as the f&b offering is really not impressive.

I got my little stop-over in Los Angeles for few hours. I was ready for the mad rush of Thanksgiving. Took an hour to get past immigration, but after this, zero queue and decent space in the lounge for my domestic connections. Sad reality, no shower in Domestic United Club in the States, I know, third world issues!

Next two flights, first to Houston and followed by a short transfer to Austin. I took the local bus from the airport to downtown. I must be the only flyer doing so, but for 1.25usd for a direct ride into town, it's the most efficient way. The ride was impressive. What a zoo! I have no idea how many people where on crack, but there were few zombies on that bus, and it was only 10am! Sad society! Everybody has a car in the States, so taking the buses is the best way to have an inside of those society has left on the side. I know I'm going political here, so let's not go further. Most of these people on that bus do need solid help!

My hotel is right in Downtown. I'm going to be more political here. Nobody is walking those streets. Downtown is impressive, there are new shinny buildings all over the place, and a lot more are just being built. The multiple construction sites sent me 20 years back to Shanghai. But there are few cars, and fewer pedestrians. Therefore one more time, the proportion of zombies felt outrageous for a modern society! Are we living a Ridley Scott or science fiction movie?



I'm happy my room is ready! That shower was something! But after the bus ride, I didn't feel out of place! Kidding! My hotel is right in the middle of the bar row on 6th Street. They even provide ear-plugs in the room. I didn't need them and slept very well. We are Tuesday and Wednesday prior to Thanksgiving. The place kind of look solid deserted. I went for a lunch at In-N-Out burger by the Texas University. The place was packed and yes, around the Uni you will find more pedestrians. I also went for a lunch at the massive Whole Foods Market next to my hotel, and here too the place was packed. There is just nobody in the streets!



I checked online, and it doesn't seem there is any museum of any solid interest in the city. So I spent my time walking around as I'm not going to go bar hopping on my own. Hotel was super cheap, but going for a drink in most places here is just crazy if you do try to compare the prices with South Africa or Bali...I can do as well with a decent bottle of wine in my cute room!



Austin, done! I'm not sure I'm ever coming back here! I'm writing this from my next stop, another new place for me, in a State that I know pretty well, and therefore another blog coming to you soon! My views may have been different had I rented a car, but sometimes, you have to content yourself with Downtown!



If you are American, hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb