Kayak Ride


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Ormond Beach
February 18th 2018
Published: February 21st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Blog 02-18-18 Kayak Ride

Watson and I toured the campground on foot today looking and finding access to the water still in search of birds. There was a trail not far from the camper that led us to the lagoon which eventually leads to the ocean. There were little crabs in the water just begging birds to come and eat them but no takers. The scenery was interesting as there was morning fog in the background making you feel that the world was small. Pictures. Watson loved the smells and would have gone on forever but other places beckoned.

I've included pictures of the campground road and my campsite so you can see that it is in an old growth live oak forest. It's very pretty but made me feel closed in and there were so many campsites that it was busy all the time. Cars driving past, motorcycled, bikes and screaming kids. Why aren't they in school!!!

Needing some solitude I put Watson in the camper and headed out to the peninsula again this time to launch my kayak. I inflated it at a little beach I found, put on my life jacket and sat on the seat bringing my legs around to put them in the foot steps. In the process I almost fell out the other side but I didn't panic and managed to balance myself. Ok, first hurtle out of the way. Now check the direction of the wind and paddle into it so when I get a little tired I can just float back. Good plan right?

There were a couple of indents on the other side so I headed for the first one and made good progress. The area was free of wind and I went close to the shoreline to investigate, might find critter tracks. I did find an opening in the weeds big enough for Watson to crawl through so it might be access for a raccoon or an otter. The next alcove was much the same as was the third but by this time I noticed I was pretty far away from my land mark to get back. Then the fog started to roll in slowly at first but then became more dense. Oh wow, hadn't thought about this happening. I paddled across the water to the other side where I knew my landing spot was and figured I'd just follow the land. It wasn't necessary as the fog lifted as quickly as it came and I could extend my tour a little longer. It was beautifully peaceful and quiet on the water, just what I needed. I took a picture with my phone of the kayak and my launching beach but I can't transfer the pictures to the computer. I've done it all along, just won't do it now.

Watson was glad to see me and we spent the rest of the afternoon quietly at the campsite.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.413s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 92; dbt: 0.167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb