Tomoka State Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Ormond Beach
February 17th 2018
Published: February 21st 2018
Edit Blog Post

blog 02-17-18 Tomoka State Park

The mission today was to find some birds. I started in the most remote part of the park that I could find, the end of the peninsula, down a seldom used dirt road. This is the only way to get to this section except by boat so I thought my chances were good. Except for being a little windy the day was beautiful with temps in the low 70s. There were no other cars in this section and only one boat but still no birds. I took some pictures of the scenery and waited for something to appear. A gecko was my only subject and he got snapped quite a few times.

Time for greener pastures. Watson and I moved to another spot on the penninsula but no luck there either. We headed to the top of the penninsula where there is a statue of Chief Tomokie of the Timucuan tribe which once resided here. The ranger told me that this section of the park had just been renovated after the fall storms and I was likely to spot birds there. Yes I did, 2 heron, far away with bad lighting but non the less, birds.

We looked around a little more but headed back to the camper, it was Watson's dinner time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb