Some closing thoughts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
January 8th 2005
Published: June 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I just wanted to leave everyone with some quick closing thoughts about our trip.

I heard so many comments about how this was a "life changing" and "heart changing" trip. I can even say that for me also. But we now risk the danger of forgetting. This trip can only change our lives and hearts if we let it. It would be so easy to walk back into our lives and pick things up just where we left off. Back to work, back to school. We had a brief glimpse of what God can do through us if we are willing to sacrifice to ourselves. I have a whole new understanding of Luke 12:47-48.

(From The Message) Luke 12:47 "The servant who knows what his master wants and ignores it, or insolently does whatever he pleases, will be thoroughly thrashed.

Luke 12:48 But if he does a poor job through ignorance, he'll get off with a slap on the hand. Great gifts mean great responsibilities; greater gifts, greater responsibilities!


God has shown us how he has blessed us. What we do with that knowledge us up to us. But we need to know the consequences of not doing anything with it. God has given Americans many gifts. I no longer have ignorance of this. We can no longer claim ignorance and we can no longer ignore it without consequence.

We saw Christianity at it's simplest and most basic core: Giving, telling and showing God's love to those who don't know. Giving of time and resources, telling of salvation and God's love, and showing love through song and testimony and sharing of our abundance.

Not knowing the language made us revert to the simplest and least complicated way of sharing. I think that we forget sometimes that it really is that simple. It really is A, B, C. Accepting that you are a sinner, Believing that Jesus died to redeem your sins and Confessing those two things to God through prayer.

Today, I added my pictures to all of the journal entries. There were a total of 8 or 9 digital cameras on the trip so I have only touched the surface. This is a fraction of what we saw and did. The pictures attached to today's journal are just some of my favorites from the trip.

It's funny, even now I am beginning to miss everyone. I lived with each of those 17 other people for 12 days. I thought that I would really get sick of everyone, but I didn't. They are my family now. For me, that is saying something. Anyone who knows me, knows my family is more dear to me than anything.
To my new family: I love you all and I already miss seeing you everyday. Please know that I will be praying for you to remember what we all learned, and to change your world with that knowledge. I ask you to be a family to me, and not let me forget or ignore what we learned. Kick me in love when I need it and I will do the same for you.


Amy 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

AlinaAlina
Alina

Whatever!
The reason I came home.The reason I came home.
The reason I came home.

How could I resist. I have the cutiest nephews in the world!


8th May 2005

Thanks!
I loved your journal! I'm getting ready to go to Romania for a mission trip in June. This was VERY helpful preparing me for all the differences our countries have. I'll be staying in Oradea and visiting the orphanges quite often! Thanks so much! I was wondering if Romania was still a comunist country, and what was the best type of medicine to take over there(incase i get sick). My email address is lucky1622@hotmail.com - Dana

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb