Spring Break


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
March 29th 2008
Published: March 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived early on Saturday morning and after a short sleep we headed to Universal Studios. It was quite wet, although warm of course. We managed to do quite a few rides, including the rollercoaster Duelling Dragons. In the evening we watched the Mardi Gras parade and saw Kool and the Gang play. One of my fav rides was The Mummy.
Sunday was quite overcast and so we went for lunch and then to Downtown Disney where we went out on some of the wee power boats and toured the canals. We had an early night as we were all getting up early to work. On the Monday I went into school with Nicola and met her class. The school and the children are lovely. I read them a story and they were doing activities about the letter 'U'. I left Nicola at lunch time and first went to World Market and then visited the place where Nat goes riding to have a look. On the Tuesday I went to Universal again and I got Deborah her T shirt and had a lovely wander round in the sun. On Tuesday night we went out and had a lovely meal at Bahama Breeze. On the Wednesday I went to St Augustine. It is quite a drive but worth it as it is a pretty unique place. I climbed the lighthouse and had a wander around. Finally on the Thursday I went to St Petersburg Beach. I walked a long the beach in the sun and saw many of the places that I remember from many years ago. The Tradewinds hotel doesn't seem to have changed much! Not realising how strong the sun was I got a bit burned and the journey back was quite tiring. This was my last night so we went out to dinner at Longhorn in Winter Garden. It was delicious! Finally I left at 4:15am to fly back up northwest.
I had a bit of an exhausting journey as I had to drive straight up to Portland for the Bruce Springsteen concert. What a night that was! Great fun and we were right at the front! I am now back home here in Eugene and I have had snow, hail, rain and cold........nothing to remind me of Florida!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 68, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb