Day 1: "just wait, bike will come " Nijmegen - Miami Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami Beach
September 2nd 2013
Published: September 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Miami hostel


So my 1st day of my great AAA ( awesome america adventure) was about the begin. And it started off pretty miserable. Day 1 was monday and i had to leave my home town Nijmegen at 6 a.m to leave for the airport. But after being a tad sick the last 2 days, a tad became insanely. Sunday night was a hell and i even threw up 15 minutes before i gathered enough strength to left to the train to start my journey. After a notious journey to the Airport i finally arrived and I checked in my bycicle and I was ready to fly to miami! But First i had to make a connexion at london heathrow. I had a very comfy nice flight, and i entertained myself by enjoying the free beverages and watched the hangover part 3 and toy story 2. I was in doubt of eating the offered food from the flight stewards, whether it would make me throw up on the nice hippie older woman next to me that made me nervous by praying during flight take off. But i decided to eat the food, and after 30 hours my stomach finally said: "come at me, food". Finally after 8 hours of flying I arrived at miami airport. After i passed the flight patrol i waited for my bike as a special baggage. I waited for almostA hour, in the meanwhile asking several employees at the spot, who with a latino accent said" just wait, bike will come". Then I went to the baggage claims and they told me what I had feard: my bike didnt arrive... No it will arrive with the tomorrow morning flight from london. They didnt know how it happened, but they were gonna take the bycicle to the place i stayed. Okay thank god they made it up that way, but oh if they screw it up, this journey was all for nothing , i really need that bike! Then i took a chaotic bussride full of police sirenes appearing everywhere and traffic jams, from the airport to miami beach. And by foot i finally found my hostel. There I met Hammoud from Marocco ( at least thats what i call him in my mind) im really bad with names at the beginning. We chatted a little about his stay and about Marocco, and after i went off to do some groceries and have dinner At subway. Some things i noticed about Miami, is that the people really try to keep a cool status, it doesnt matter which age or type of person you are there, everybody is just rolling like a coolio. Also the traffic is kinda chaotic. When I walked there on the streets it somehow reminded me of GTA like san andreas i guess. Just thugs in open cars with loud gangsta music, tough men on motorbikes, barrerly clothed woman and palm trees, and big street signs. Later that evening a group of 4 people asked me to join them at the bar. they were british. 2 boys and 2 girls. the 2 girls were together on an american holiday visiting new york, miami, las vegas and san francisko. The 2 british boys just arrived today as well. Before i knew i was in a game where i had to choose a celebrity boyfriend and lifetime partner. Thats right, a celebrity guy... The british people came up with several games and kept the conversation going on smoothly. I now had made the discovery that British people are smooth talkers , damn they just keep on going. First i was afraid thAt I had to find other people to hang out with, but they found me! We made a deal to see eachother at the breakfast next morning, hit the beach , and play beer pong in the evening followed by clubbing. Then i went to bed, exhausted from a long adventurous day. Oh wait, before i went to bed i made a midnight toilet visit, and ye the toilet didnt flush, dramatic scene followed up...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb