Miami, Florida - New Year's Cruise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami Beach
December 27th 2010
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

After another 3 hour flight, I finally arrived into Miami early afternoon, gaining another 5 hours on my day, so found adjusting to Miami’s time the hardest as I hadn’t quite caught up with Honolulu’s yet. Consequently, it took me about 3 days before I finally got into their time and stopped waking up at 3.00 in the morning.

In Miami I was joining my first American Singles Cruise over the New Year who also matched you with a cabinmate (hence cutting the cost of the cruise), and they suggested arriving a couple of days beforehand to meet everyone and to ensure you didn't miss the boat. They booked the Avalon Hotel in South Beach for everyone (one buzzy neighbourhood) with the Beach just across the road, and miles and miles of restaurants. Meet and greet parties were organised but otherwise the days were left for you to do whatever you wanted.

Unfortunately, due to all the cold weather on the east coast (New York was completely snowed in), it was also freezing in Miami – a place that’s usually balmy and warm even in winter. Two days of partying, eating, drinking, nightclubbing and looking around the shops went by with one of the American girls getting that sloshed, that on her way home from nightclubbing she actually fell into the sea and bruised both her knees. :-)

Miami is very Latin American and very much an American holiday spot , so most of the nightclubs play Latin American music and basically you hear it blaring out everwhere. Now I don't mind Latin American music normally, but after hearing it constantly for 2 solid days without a break, I found it monotonous as the beat is the same for every single tune, and I got to the stage of "if I don't hear it again, it will be too soon."

On the other hand, it was great to hear Spanish being spoken and as they're a lot of tourists there too, also heard some French, German, Afrikaan and even Cockney. I'm English born, so the latter was a nice surprise to my ears.

WEBSITE

Singles Cruise - www.singlestravelintl.com


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Don't Take My PhotoDon't Take My Photo
Don't Take My Photo

Got accused of pinching his energy - but the only energy that was actually used was from my camera battery.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb