Off to Honolulu via Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
December 26th 2010
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

For a cheapish Hotel right on Waikiki, I recommend the Aston Waikiki Circle (cheapest room is city view) - no pool but rooms are clean and comfortable (res.CIR@astonhotels.com).

3rd day (Boxing Day) I flew off to Miami via Chicago – another 8 hour red-eye flight, more pins and needles, and arrived into Chicago at 5.00 in the morning with snow on the ground and absolutely freezing. Hadn’t packed any winter clothes so had to buy a blanket on the plane - yes buy, as on internal U.S. flights nothing is free, including headsets. Even your suitcase will cost you $25 to have it checked-in.

Had 4 hours to waste to connect to Miami and was dying to go to sleep, but concerned I’d miss my connecting flight, so I found out the Gate No. it was taking off from and sat there for 3 solid hours drinking coffee. As the last hour was approaching, I thank God I had the foresight to recheck my flight again, as they’d actually changed the Gate No. on me (which was miles away), so had I not rechecked, I could have sat there for another hour thinking I was at the right Gate, only to end up missing my connecting flight. Honestly, airlines.

TIPS

• Cheap alcohol/tourist stuff at ABC stores
• $2.50 (one way) for The Bus from Ala Moana Centre, ask for Transfer coupon if doing second leg of journey – No. 52 around the entire Island, have exact fare (they don’t carry change) takes 4 hours
• Royal Hawaiian (Pink Hotel) Shopping Centre – Fountain Courtyard, 6.00 p.m. Torch Lighting ceremony & 6.15 Polynesian show, Mon, Wed & Fri
• Sunset - The Outrigger Waikiki Hotel - Dukes Canoe Club - musicians & entertainment, restaurants
• Hilton Hawaiian Village - nightly entertainment
• Cheap lunch & dinner – Vendors at Food Court, International Market Place



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

ChicagoChicago
Chicago

Snow on the ground


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0141s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb