Lake Griffin State Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Lady Lake
January 22nd 2019
Published: January 22nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Lake Griffin State Park, Fruitland Park, FL

Watson and I finally made it to Florida. It only took 6 days and 1,120 miles but here we are in the warmth and sunshine. The last night in Savannah was really cold, by the south standards, reaching the 30 degree mark. But it warmed up quickly and although the drive yesterday seemed to take forever we made it and set up camp quickly.

The claim to fame of this park is the second largest live oak in the state of Florida. The largest is in a state park near Ormond Beach, just east of here. The tree is magnificent and huge at the base branching out within 3ft of the ground and spreading it's massive arms up and out from there. Picture. It is believed to be between 300 and 500 yrs old and was discovered by the white man in 1811 but the Indians used it as a landmark well before that.

I have included a picture of red lichen on the tree that I have only seen in FL.

The park is not on the lake but on a finger that leads to the lake. There is supposed to be good fishing and bird watching but I saw no birds and didn't fish. The park runs a tour boat to the lake on weekends but I was not one of the fortunate ones being here in the middle of the week.

It is however peaceful and quiet and that is just what I needed. I spent 2 nights here and today was spent walking about, snapping pictures, and reading my book in the sun. It was perfect.

Oh, I included 2 pictures of the total eclipse of the Wolf Moon taken Sunday night. I sat out in the cold for almost an hour watching the event and marveling at the stars. It was beautiful and the first time I have seen a total eclipse of the moon. I have to get a bigger tripod to hold the big lens, then I can get more light in the pictures.

Tomorrow I am off to Thousand Trails which is about an hour away. I have to be there exactly at noon to line up for my spot so I will wait in a parking lot just up the street. Ginnie is there and we will spend 12 days together.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.498s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 97; dbt: 0.3725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb