Day 1, mile 0, Key West


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Key West sign postThe Key West sign postThe Key West sign post

only 1700 miles from here to prtland... as the crow flys not the bicyclist rides!
Day 1, Key West
Pierce
Last Sunday I watched my parents drive my truck full of all my belongings down the street as I thought to myself "what the hell am I doing, what did I do? What did I just do?!" I was left with only my bike and the little bit of stuff that I had packed into my bike bags. I was more nervous now than ever before and I kept thinking to myself "what just happened here? what did I just do?" as I flew down south. I felt a little better while on layover in Ft. Lauderdale seeing all the palm trees and all the beautiful beach going people, myself included of course. When I finally boarded the tiny plane to Key West I felt great, even the pilot was a beautiful supermodel.
When I deplaned in Key West the wind was blowing hard but it was warm, not to hot or to chilly, a tropical feel. After I gathered all my bags and bike, I dragged it all out to a patch of grass under the shade of a palm tree and started building. It took me about an hour and a half to put it all back together and got out on the road. The first thing I saw just outside the airport was the cool tropical turquoise waters of paradise. It took me about another hour to find a place to stay - the Navy Lodge, only 26 dollars a night, what a steal! Soon after checking in I was out on the town taking in all the sights and sounds of this small party town. I saw a sign post with various places listed with there mileages, at the very top was, oh so far away, Portland, ME, over 1700 miles away. Holy s#*t! I saw the Key West Lighthouse and mile 0 of US HWY 1. I had an early dinner at the Hogs Breath Saloon, a great cheeseburger and a great margarita, so good that I was drunk on the first sip! Later that night I went out to the bars again drinkin' and dancin'. It was a fantastic first night and celebration of my exit from the Army.
This morning I found a great internet juice bar (where I am typing this now) inside of a food market. They made me Bee Energy juice with bee honey and OJ, delicious. I will start my
cockadoodledoocockadoodledoocockadoodledoo

these things are runnin around every where
first day of riding today after a stop at the southern most spot in the US then on to somewhere northeast of here.

See you next time,

Peace and happiness


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

an incredible one man bandan incredible one man band
an incredible one man band

this guy is a legend!
The sunset festivalThe sunset festival
The sunset festival

an inspirational, breath taking view
Lets get ready to ride!Lets get ready to ride!
Lets get ready to ride!

The southernmost spot in the US, in beautiful tropical waters


1st April 2007

Home
We made it home to Windsor at 6 pm on Saturday.Had quite a trek through half the US. Got rained on a few times. Stayed in Stratton last night. The pickup is unpacked and we are resting after our journey. Good luck on the rest of your adventure and be safe. Love Mom and Dad

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb