Freedom, at last and the long road ahead


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
March 23rd 2007
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Untitled
Pierce
Tomorrow I will get up early one last time, I will drive the ten miles through Fayetteville, North Carolina to Fort Bragg one last time, I will go to the chow hall for two dollar breakfast one last time, and I will walk through the post out-processing station one last time. Tomorrow is the last day I will be an active duty US Army artillery officer. The last four years has been difficult, complicated, stressful, exhausting, depressing, exciting, adventurous, inspirational, fun, awesome, and a whole lot of words that I would rather not mention. I don't think I would have wanted it any other way. I have learned a lot about the world and myself, met a lot of great people and will always cherish these experiences, good and bad, and will never forget these times that are now behind me...It’s all over!

Now I can get back to my life or establish a new life like the one I enjoyed before the military. It is difficult to remember what that previous life was but it will be easy to slip back into it; where I can make the best of every situation and it is up to me to accomplish whatever I so chose to do or whatever I can dream up in my imagination. I have earned 65 days of paid leave on the bill of the US Gov’t so I’m taking advantage. I have dreamed and planned a fantastic voyage to clear my mind and open it up to the world around me. I will analyze suburban/urban/regional transportation flow, experience new and old city and town centers, and discover new subcultures of the US east coast via one bicycle, three bike bags, one camera, and my own two feet.
Key West to Canada! I have researched a winding route along the eastern coastline of the US for almost three years and I hope to see many interesting things and meet many new people along the way. I start on Monday March 26, 2007 when I fly from Raleigh NC, into Key West, FL with a boxed up bike and three bike bags filled full of gear. Once I arrive in the Keys I will assemble my bike again and then I will be off to the sweet paradise and a pitcher of margaritas. I will start riding north the next morning and will not stop till I cross the northern boarder from Maine into Canada two and a half months later.

Stay tuned in as I wright about my experiences when I can, whenever I can get access to a computer.

Advertisement



23rd March 2007

i am thrilled for you and can't wait to hear of your adventures. take care.
24th March 2007

Good luck
Just want to be the first to leave you a comment about your long awaited trip that you have been planning for 3 years, which I still can not believe that you never told me about. Your supposed to tell your stylist everything. I am looking forward to hearing of your travels.
24th March 2007

Congratulations!
Jared, Congratulations on your return to civilian life. I can't believe that it has been 4 years already since your stint began. We were hoping and praying that you would get through at least the active part of your military service without harm, and you have! This trip will be a great way to transition to ??? But don't worry about that now, just enjoy yourself and be safe. Your Uncle, Jack

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb