The journey begins


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Fort Myers
June 29th 2010
Published: June 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I can't begin to speak of the recent changes in my life. Being unemployed is very new to me and a little nervewracking, but I suppose it won't be hard to get used to once my feet hit the Caribbean sand. Though I am almost packed and will be embarking on my journey in less than 24 hours, I think I am still a bit in shock mode. I think excitement is still my #1 emotion, though I definitenly go through times of apprehension and panic. Thankfully these are few and far between.

For all of those wondering, no, I haven't gone crazy and I'm not trying to rebel against anything. I got bit by the travel bug as a young child (thanks Dad & Mom!) and I hope I will never get that out of my system. Perhaps I don't choose the most conventional places to visit, but in my experience, they have been by far the most memorable. With the way things are playing out in life, I figured this may be one of my few chances to take a trip like this and decided to jump on the deal.

I fly into Cartagena, Colombia tomorrow around 6:30 PM. From those I know who have been there, it comes very highly recommended. I have a few ideas of what to do from there, but nothing has been set in stone. I'll venture down to Southern Colombia and over the border to Ecuador in mid-July where I will volunteer with FUNDECOIPA July 19-Aug 6. I'll be living & working with a Shaur tribe near Puyo. After that time is done, I'll explore a bit more of Ecuador, then head back up to Medellin, Colombia for my flight home on Aug 19. From FLL, I fly directly up to Milwaukee, then I'll make my way over to Kilby for the week. I welcome (and encourage) any other sporadic visitors if you have the same spontaneous urge to travel as me.

Keep in touch and I'll do my best to update accordingly. For those who don't know, I recently opened a Skype account and I believe my screen name is noel.wingers so get a webcam and we can chat it up!

Con mucho amor,

Noel :-)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb