Look Ma I'm a Star


Advertisement
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So this week, I am at the RTM Star Centre for Maritime Officers in Dania Beach, Florida. I am being sent here by Carnival to get my Simulation, Training, Assessor, and Research Certification. This program is all about Adult Education, Course Development/Design and some Maritime Legal proceedings.

When I found out I would be coming to Star Centre I was very surprised and excited. I have heard about this place from everyone that works on the ships, and especially in my department. Not everyone is selected to go to this place so it holds a little prestige for me, which I like too.

So I needed to get on a flight from Tampa, after the relocation and head back to Ft. Lauderdale. Which seemed odd because I came from Ft. Lauderdale in the first place. But before all of that I needed to go through security in Tampa, and get my working visa. Let me tell you this proved to be very hard. The officers that were there were rude and not hospitable at all. But I got my Visa and off I went.

I was very early at the airport so took the time to try and familiarize myself with my new laptop. Which I am loving btw. I just need a better photo editing software. But never the less, the flight was fine and then I arrived in Ft. Lauderdale and headed to the Star Centre. I was greeted nicely and then headed to my room. I unpacked - I brought far to much clothing. And then went for a run. I was met by some of the others trainers when I was shirtless all sweaty. What a great first impression. HAHHA oh well.

The course was touch, a lot of hard work and a lot of hours put in. I guess I thought I would have a little bit of a light week but I was wrong. It was hardcore. But it was good. I learned a lot and met some amazing people.

I met Kyla a Training and Development Manager from Scotland, Lloyd a Trainer from Zimbabwe, Vanessa a Trainer from Toronto, Chris a Trainer from Toronto and Shawna a Trainer from Toronto. Shawna and I were in the college together so it was really good to see here and catch up.

In our spare time we went shopping, well
Our BarracksOur BarracksOur Barracks

The RTM Star Centre was locked down like a 'military' fort, because it was... There were cameras and gates everywhere.
a lot of shopping. Went out for drinks, dinners, and to the gym. The group of us went to an area of Ft. Lauderdale called. Riverwalk, it is like Queen Street in some ways in Toronto. It was nice there are expensive restaurants and shops. We went to an Asian Bistro for supper, which was very nice. Later that night Shawna and I went to South Beach Miami Florida to have a drink and people watch. It was bloody hilarious. There is so much randomness there. And the funny part is, its just like Toronto, only the people and tanned, plastic and fake looking, there is a boardwalk with a beach and everyone is wearing Copacobana clothing. As Shawna and I were walking down the street we noticed that not one but two men had LARGE boa constrictors around their necks. One was albino and the other natural camouflage colouring. It was absolutely disgusting. I am TERRIFIED of snakes as is Shawna so we were a little apprehensive about walking anywhere along the streets. We managed to make a pact that if she or I saw a snake we would let the other know and then run our asses off.

We went to a place called Wet Willies, and then to a Salsa Dancing bar. It was awesome. I drank water as I was driving but it was still good fun.

Well this week proved to be a great distraction from the drama and all that other negative stuff that happens on the ship. But then makes me realize that I am going to miss it when I go home. I only have two more weeks on the ship and then I go home. So I want to make sure that I am making the most out of it.

So here’s to trying to make the most out of it. And may you all read some great stories over the next two weeks.
Ciao
Brooks



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

My little friendMy little friend
My little friend

All of you know my hatred of anything reptile, each day this little guy was waiting for me outside of my room.
Captain Brooks...againCaptain Brooks...again
Captain Brooks...again

This is the simulator at Star Centre. This is the smulator that all of the Officers go through at the centre. We were given the opportunity to try too.
My navigationMy navigation
My navigation

An image of my navigation while I was at the helm.
And the winner is...And the winner is...
And the winner is...

Kyla, Chris and I won the jeopardy game and won Star Centre pens and lanyards.
the fabulos Vanessathe fabulos Vanessa
the fabulos Vanessa

another corporate trainer.
the last lunchthe last lunch
the last lunch

Ileana - instructor, and the other corporate trainers, Lloyd, Vanessa, Kyla, Chris and Shawna.
Stuck in the trunkStuck in the trunk
Stuck in the trunk

We decieded to rent a car for a few days and there wasn't enough room, so in the trunk with Chris.. HAHA
Can I touch your hairCan I touch your hair
Can I touch your hair

These two little girls wanted to touch Shawna's fantastic curls.
Miami Dolphins AuditionsMiami Dolphins Auditions
Miami Dolphins Auditions

When we were shopping at Aventura mall there were Miami Dolphin Cheerleader auditions taking place.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb