There's no place like Home.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cozumel
April 23rd 2007
Published: April 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

There’s no place like home.

All great things must come to and end, isn’t that the saying??? Well I want to say that that isn’t true.

My contract with Carnival is over in a few days and I want to take this time to thank a few key people and reflect a little.

I have seen and done some amazing things over the last six months. Be it, walking through the French influenced downtown of Martinique, sneaking into exotic resorts, hitting up the Boat Yard with fellow crew in Barbados, going on tours with the Tour Guide or be it lounging on a beach with great friends. I can look back on this adventure and know that it has shaped me in someway.

As most of you know, I am generally a pessimistic person. I have been raised to look out for yourself, and rely on my gut instinct while sticking to my morals, integrity and general zest for all things according to plan. This experience has taught me that there is so much more out there. While still holding onto the things that are important to you, you can experience a life away from your comfort zone, and learning that there is an optimistic approach to everything.

I am a traditional person, with traditional views and rarely compromise. I like what's familiar and I am a Cancer, Gold personality, 1/8 anagram and all that other good stuff. So when I had the opportunity to come and experience life away from home on a Cruise Line, I thought, “ I want to do that, but I can’t do that”, there were to many questions and to many things unknown.

I was called about my resume from a recruiter in Montreal and asked if I would be interested in an interview with Carnival as a Corporate Trainer. I said why not. The one thing that I have learned about job interviews is that you will always walk away gaining another perspective and learning more about yourself. The attended the job interview in Toronto, at the Royal York Hotel, where I walked into a room FULL of people. I instantly reverted back to my pessimistic behaviour and thought, “ What am I doing? What have I gotten myself into?” But decided that it was worth the interview and as I drove an hour for it. I sat and thought to myself, this sounds interesting. After going through the entire interview process, I was told I would be called within a few days to let me know if I got the position. I was called about 20 minutes later with the “Yes, you were great we would love to have you on our team. You are expected in Miami November 6, 2006”. I was so excited, scared, nervous, sad and all of those other emotions. I would be leaving and within two weeks.

So now, I reflect two weeks before heading back home and feel the exact same way as I did two weeks before heading to Miami. I am excited, scared, nervous, sad and all those other emotions.

I often explain how I am feeling to how I have read what the soldiers of war feel about their platoon, or fellow troops. I am worried about going home. Will it be the same there, has anything changed, what have my parents done with my bedroom etc. And I am scared to switch out of the routine of living on the ship. I don’t know if I can handle going back home and having all of this taken away from me. As the feeling of many soldiers. I decided to embark on this adventure because it was an opportunity to experience something amazing - to see amazing places and to meet amazing people. But I needed some sort of routine, some sort of order, something to let me realize that I wasn’t just walking away from the corporate life I was currently living. And being a Corporate Trainer, with set hours, set job description seems as though all of my criteria could be met.

I packed, said goodbye to some very sad family/friends and headed to Miami. Met some fantastic people, flew to LA and worked on the Paradise, flew to Miami and worked on the Legend out of Ft. Lauderdale, relocated to Tampa and flew back to Ft. Lauderdale to go to RTM Star Centre and then flew back to Tampa to work back on the Legend.

Along the way working in an environment I don’t think I could possibly explain in full detail - although having tried. Met people from all over the world and built some great friendships. I truly have enjoyed my experience to date and welcome a world back home. I can’t wait to see my family/friends and share with them everything I possibly can from this adventure. I am sure they will be wide-eyed and bushy-tailed for days.

I would like to think that I am a different person after all of this, but know that I am the same me, just with more chapters added to an already exciting novel of life. I will miss everyone terribly and think of them often, but after all,

There is no place like home.

Thank you to everyone.



Advertisement



24th April 2007

Great blog
I have followed your adventure since day 1. Great, exciting, and...well very tempting indeed. enjoy you time at home
28th April 2007

What a trip !
Can't wait for you to come home we all missed ya! even the girls. Make sure you stop over I would love to hear and see all your pictures. I have stories of my own to fill you in on...Hey Lindsay's hockey team won GOLD in the all Ontario Provincials... Cindy
29th April 2007

Thank you
Good Evening Pat, Thank you very much for your kind words. I never thought that so many people could possibly come across my blog. I am glad that it made you smile.
29th April 2007

GOLD!!!
Hey there Cindy, be sure to tell Lindsay that I am VERY PROUD. I cant wait to come home and show all of you pictures and share stories of my adventures.
30th April 2007

home
YOUR ROOM IS WAITING

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb