Days 2, 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Dania Beach
February 26th 2011
Published: February 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Joy of travel – meeting people

On the shuttle from the airport yesterday I chatted with a couple from Ontario, Canada.
Today I was sitting by the pool when they peeked in, on their way to the shopping center. We got to talking and they asked me to go along. I needed some items and so off we went. There was a shuttle service for $10pp but we decided to walk the two or three blocks to the crosswalk. It was a pleasant walk in beautiful warm weather.

Ellie and Mac are in their mid-seventies, look and act much younger and are sailing Friday on the Westerdam. They are real happy folks and pleasure to be with. We did our shopping, Mac stocked up on wine for the cruise and I picked up a bottle of merlot. We discovered an Art Deco diner and made plans to eat together tonight.
I spent an hour in and by the pool reading and then went up for a short nap.
Ellie and Mac invited me to their room for a glass of wine before dinner and we had a great time talking about our travel adventures. We compared experiences gave and got advice on new places and it was totally enjoyable. Wish they were sailing on the Noordam.
The walk to and from the diner much more comfortable with company and the homeless were not around. Dinner at the Diner was good, the service good and the company was great.
Got back to the hotel in time to catch NCIS and enjoy a good night’s sleep.
Planned to insert a picture of Ellie and Mac BUT I FORGOT THE CABLE CONNECTIONS FROM THE CAMERA TO THE COMPUTER. They are sitting in my desk drawer. Oh well. It’s always something.
Friday was another beautiful day, sunny, warm with a light breeze. I saw Ellie and Mac off and my friend Sharon Stockton arrived for lunch. She looks great and Hugh is doing fine after his second bout with cancer. He has certainly had more than his share of health issues and keeps bouncing back. We talked about the days we worked together at the Advocate with Peggy, Sandy and Joanie. I agreed that it was probably the most fun job we ever had. We were all young and silly. We worked hard but didn’t have lots of stress. Our boss, Mr. Davis, was the finest gentleman I have ever met and he looks after us girls like daughters. After all these years we are all still friends and still keep in touch. Now if Sharon and Peggy would just get on the Internet ………
Sharon suggested an Irish Pub she knew and we had a wonderful lunch. I have never, ever, had a better chicken potpie and I had Sharon’s leftover fish and chips for dinner. How good is that? We had Irish bread pudding for desert and I had a grand pull of Guinness. I’m noting this place in case I ever sail from Ft. Lauderdale again. They have live Irish music in the evening and the restaurant itself is rustic, pubby and quirky, the service attentive and friendly and the price is right.
Settling in for an early night and a great sail away day tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.339s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb