My Goodness!!


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A Beautiful DayA Beautiful DayA Beautiful Day

It's such a wonderful day out...perhaps I'll make a lap around all the monuments!

My Goodness!!

 North America » United States » Washington DC By Spot
June 7th 2007
Spot T. Giraffe
I can't believe it?!?! Has it already been over 10 months since I embarked on this amazing adventure? It seems as though it was only yesterday that I stretched my long legs and walked out into this great, amazing country of ours. I've been so wrapped up in my adventures, enjoying life, that I've become terribly lax in updating you with pictures. That, and to paraphrase a popular commercial, some things that happen on vacation, stay on vacation. I am a grown giraffe after all!

But trust me, my family of co-workers has never been far from my thoughts. I'm eager to return, and share the experience of our innovative new office--triumph or debacle that it may be. Though I miss my friends, the warm air of approaching summer has once again tickled my outdoors fancy, and I've returned to explore some other sights of our nation's capital. Enjoy...and see you soon?




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Just a little wet?Just a little wet?
Just a little wet?

I know my mom would have a fit if I ever went out in one of those little boats, but they look so darn fun!
Jefferson MemorialJefferson Memorial
Jefferson Memorial

I'm here! It's hard to choose just one favorite monument...but this one is definitely near the top of my list. A simple, yet distinguished temple for simple, yet profound ideas.
The man himself...The man himself...
The man himself...

Yes, I know, it's a terrible picture. Sorry.
InspirationInspiration
Inspiration

I'm must say that my journeys have exposed me to many new, intriguing ideas. Why can't I switch "giraffes" for "men"? I know one thing, from the bookstore to this monument, I'm a lot more certain of my rights and value as a creature, and certainly won't allow myself to be taken for granted as a mere doorman again!
What a view!What a view!
What a view!

Not only are these monuments great to look AT, they're great to look out FROM as well!
Lincoln MemorialLincoln Memorial
Lincoln Memorial

Another grand temple to a grand man. But look at all those steps...whew!
I made it!I made it!
I made it!

Whew! That was a bit of a climb, especially when it's a bit hot outside. But now I'm here, let's look around...
The man himself (take 2)The man himself (take 2)
The man himself (take 2)

Wow! But the scale is most certainly proportionate to the achievements.
Comfortable HeightsComfortable Heights
Comfortable Heights

I'm not exactly short myself, but this is overwhelming--and comforting at the same time.
Powerful words...Powerful words...
Powerful words...

There's inspiration around every corner. Sometimes I find it hard to believe the politicians who run our country do so with such expedient ignorance of these texts just a few yards away.
New friends!New friends!
New friends!

One of the best experiences of my travels, beyond seeing the sights, has been meeting new friends like this family here!
Take five!Take five!
Take five!

Going down these steps is much harder on my knees than going up! No one will mind if I stop to take a break...
Photogenic!Photogenic!
Photogenic!

My goodness, quite a few people want to take my picture! I feel like a celebrity! But seriously, haven't they ever seen a tourist giraffe before?
More friends!More friends!
More friends!

I just kept meeting so many wonderful people, including this nice family from overseas!
Yet more friends!Yet more friends!
Yet more friends!

I find it heartwarming to see so many people from overseas who come to Washington to learn about our country. Here's a new friend from Australia that I met! G'day mate!
Flags A-plenty!Flags A-plenty!
Flags A-plenty!

One thing there's certainly no shortage of in DC--American flags!
Going up?Going up?
Going up?

I downright feel like a dwarf standing next to this thing! That's all for tonight, but stay tuned...


9th June 2007

Wow
Wow, Spot T., you're the man!! or is that the male giraffe? What do they call a male giraffe, anyway? A buck, a bull, what??? It is nice to see you making so many friends. Is it the D.C. natives that are so friendly or the tourists? Aren't the founding principles of this country great!!! But, alas, we Americans forget. But I'm glad you got to visit the memorials to these extraordinary gentlemen and were inspired by their words. May democracy prevail!!!! Your admirer, Lucinda
10th June 2007

It's about time
I, for one, have been worried about you Spot T. Giraffe. However, I must say that you are still as stunning as ever. What a handsome giraffe you were at the Lincoln Memorial. And so friendly, my my. It's been fun watching your adventures - but alas all of us have to return to work sooner or later-- I just hope your friends have a special space for you in their new digs. Rumor has it that they do!

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb