We Have Nothing to Fear...


Advertisement
Published: December 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I don't think that I'd ever say this, but I'm really starting to miss standing guard by the door at work. And I'm really beginning to miss my chums from the office. I wonder...is it time for me to wrap up this vacation? It's so hard to make a decision like that though... Regardless, don't fear--I've still got plenty of pictures left to post. In keeping with the theme, please enjoy these from my visit to the FDR Memorial in DC--truly a unique and inspirational monument. Hope you enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Entering the Monument...Entering the Monument...
Entering the Monument...

Such an interesting idea--a monument you actually walk through!
Still Entering...Still Entering...
Still Entering...

Of course, it takes a while to walk...and I have to keep ducking under trees and such. Patience!
The Man HimselfThe Man Himself
The Man Himself

Regardless of your own political views, you have to agree he was one of the truly great leaders. If only we had someone close these days...
Fireside Chatter?Fireside Chatter?
Fireside Chatter?

Hmmm...I can't hear anything. Oh well.
Silly me...Silly me...
Silly me...

You won't believe this, but I actually waited in line a good 30 minutes before I realized it wasn't a "real" soup kitchen.
Read this.Read this.
Read this.

There's nothing more I can say.
Keep Reading.Keep Reading.
Keep Reading.

This entire monument had a profound effect on me.
Wait...Wait...
Wait...

Am I getting smaller? I hope that dog isn't real...or at least is well-behaved!
The Missus...The Missus...
The Missus...

And such a fascinating wife. An amazing pair of people. I hope I'm lucky enough to find a female giraffe as unique and special...one day.
Getting Thirsty...Getting Thirsty...
Getting Thirsty...

Gorgeous! The power of water is such a compelling complement to the granite. I wonder if they'd mind me taking a little sip...
RememberRemember
Remember

...And Never Forget.


3rd December 2006

YES!
This gave me quite the laugh at work...cheers! :D
9th December 2006

Merry Christmas
Hey Spot! Hope you are having a good holiday. Looks like you had fun at this memorial place. Maybe you can come spend the holiday in California with me.
22nd December 2006

Everyone deserves a vacation now and again. Maybe your chums miss you too and would like to see you once again. Perhaps you should go home for New Years. We'll miss you though. I do love your postings. Give everyone a big Finnius D. Dog kiss for me and be a good giraffe.
18th March 2007

A-ha!!
Spot, There you are!! Now I see what you've been doing all this time. You've been watching college hoops and studying and researching the teams so you could win the office bracket tourney. Wow. You really ARE trying to get the full American experience, aren't you?? (Personally, I was hoping you'd make some Oscar predictions, or show up on the red carpet or something. There's still the Preakness to look ahead to, I suppose...) We all have missed you and your blog entries!! We were so worried about you. Some of us did wonder whether you had gone into hibernation in those cold spells we've been having, although no one seemed to know if giraffes would hibernate. We do miss your expertise around the office. AND we have a perfect spot (ha ha) picked out for you in the new office, which is starting to take shape. Take care of yourself, and good luck with your bracket. Maryland let me down, so it looks like it might come down to youa
18th March 2007

There you are!
Spot, We've been so worried about you, since you went incommunicado in December. We were starting to wonder if a giraffe out in the deep cold spells we've had here in Maryland would go into hibernation. But now it's clear that you were glued to the television watching college hoops, and doing research on the teams, so that you could put together a prize-winning bracket in the office tournament! Wow. I'm impressed. We have a nice spot (ha ha) picked out for you in the new office space, which is shaping up nicely. I think you'll be pleased; you'll be the focus of attention and the first "person" visitors see on their way in. Good luck with the Sweet Sixteen and beyond! Diane
6th June 2007

It's time to come home!
Spot - Good news! We are moving back next Monday! It's time for you to come home. We miss you! We have a perfect spot all picked out for you and are anxious for you to see it. I know your time out in the big world has been a blast, and we have really enjoyed sharing your adventures, but really! It's time. If you need help coming home, just let me know. Your cohort will get full amnesty from me. Can't wait to see you!
19th June 2007

I hear they need you
Rumor has it that you're needed at work now -- That door has to be guarded - I'd ask for special compensation though. After all -- you are Spot T. Giraffe!

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb