Oops!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Annapolis
November 5th 2006
Published: November 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It seems in my haste to show my exciting pictures from our Nation's capital, I forgot quite a few (18) other pictures from my Annapolis trip! My bad! So before moving on, let's catch up...




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

A Friendly StartA Friendly Start
A Friendly Start

I've been so impressed with how friendly people in Maryland have been me as a foreigner! Here I'm getting tips to maximize the fun of my tour in downtown Annapolis...
The Seat of Power...The Seat of Power...
The Seat of Power...

Well, where better place to start than at the top!
Career change?Career change?
Career change?

Hmmm...that is a nice house. I hear the Governor's race is a toss up...perhaps you should just write me in!
The People's house...The People's house...
The People's house...

What a gorgeous day! And how fantastic that in this country we can actually walk around the buildings where our government governs!
Such history!Such history!
Such history!

Oldest in the nation? I'm impressed! From Constitutional convention to BGE rate hike...So much has happened here!
Whew...Whew...
Whew...

That's a lot of stairs...it's not easy for a giraffe to climb stairs. Hopefully this is worth it!
Knock, knockKnock, knock
Knock, knock

Wow, that's an impressive door! I hope it doesn't slam on my tail!
How did they do that?How did they do that?
How did they do that?

Such fantastic detail, but so high! I can only imagine a REALLY tall, REALLY talented giraffe created all that detail...
Salutations!Salutations!
Salutations!

Well, I'm not sure who this is, but he must be important! Best get my picture with him...
Sailing, sailing...Sailing, sailing...
Sailing, sailing...

What? No climbing! Darn, this would have been a perfect boat for me to take out for a spin...
OLD glory...OLD glory...
OLD glory...

That's a HUGE flag. What? Not everything I say has to be funny.
The chamberThe chamber
The chamber

Look, this is actually where all those great decisions are made! It must be such an honor to be a delegate. Now I understand why my mailbox is filled with all that campaign junk mail...
Barriers...Barriers...
Barriers...

Shucks. Well, mark my words--one day I will be "Authorized"...ha!
Oh my goodness!Oh my goodness!
Oh my goodness!

Oh my! Is that? Could it be? Is it really him! I think it is...none other than George Washington himself! How lucky am I!?!?
Celebrity central!Celebrity central!
Celebrity central!

Wow, first I meet G-Wash...and now look, it's Thurgood Marshall! Annapolis is the Hollywood of Maryland political history! Wait--who is that in the background???
Ah-ha!Ah-ha!
Ah-ha!

I knew it--it's that crazy turtle again! Is he following me? And look, he's repainted himself again!
How on earth...How on earth...
How on earth...

Wait a sec--how can he reach back to paint his own shell?
Another celebrity!Another celebrity!
Another celebrity!

Wow, that turtle kinda creeps me out. But look at this--another celebrity: Alex Haley! A fitting end to a day where I've been learning about my own Maryland "Roots"...


9th November 2006

Annapolis
I am surprised you didn't stop in to have a friendly brew or 6 at one of the fine pubs in Annapolis.
13th November 2006

another oops?
Spot, I have to ask: Have you been hanging around the mall in Towson? I was recently up there and saw a female door giraffe who, shall we say, appeared to be in the family way. I know you're enjoying a much needed vacation, but please be careful out there!
17th November 2006

Spot - You really must be better about downloading your pictures. We anxiously await your adventures. Have you considered letting your hair down some. Perhaps you should consider getting your beard, mane and tail groomed - Oh no you don't have a beard and only a teeny tiny mane - Aw Shucks Spot. I guess you'll just have to let them grow out of control. Some things just seem to be out of control don't they! Or maybe you should consider running for Mayor of Baltimore - I hear he overthrew the present Governor. Hm interesting thought. I hope you're doing some fun thing on Thanksgiving.

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb