Continued Reflections


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

BeginningBeginningBeginning

Starting my tour today with the newest, most overdue, monument.

Continued Reflections

 North America » United States » Washington DC By Spot
June 8th 2007
Spot T. Giraffe
Hi, friends! These last few DC pictures document my visit to three major war memorials on the Mall. Obviously, not many opportunities for levity with these. I've commented before on the relationship between the detached majesty of these monuments with the closely-felt horrors of the conflicts they commemorate. But this in no way demeans the majestic sacrifice of the soldiers who gave up the last full measure of their devotion to the ideals of this country; not to the politics of the conflicts, however just or unjust they may be. Something as poignant then as now. These experiences offered me a chance for reflection, and I post them here with the hopes that they may offer you that chance as well.

But of course I'd never leave on such a somber note...stay tuned... 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Reflected ReflectionsReflected Reflections
Reflected Reflections

What better way to start my reflections than with my reflection!
The size of the war...The size of the war...
The size of the war...

This shot gives an impression of the immensity of this monument--you're seeing just over half of it!
"The Price of Freedom""The Price of Freedom"
"The Price of Freedom"

Here I share a moment of reflection with a friend. Each of these stars represents about 100 of just the American soldiers who lost their lives in WWII. There are over 4,000 of them.
Pillars, and The PillarPillars, and The Pillar
Pillars, and The Pillar

A nice juxtaposition of the pillars that represent the U.S. states and territories with the grandest "pillar" of them all.
The Rainbow PoolThe Rainbow Pool
The Rainbow Pool

With the Pacific Pavilion in the background.
My Ancestors?My Ancestors?
My Ancestors?

It makes me wonder: Did any of my ancestors witness, or even take part in, the war?
OutsideOutside
Outside

Outside the Atlantic Pavilion...
InsideInside
Inside

Inside the Atlantic Pavilion...
Continuing the themeContinuing the theme
Continuing the theme

I liked this picture of the Reflecting Pool...
Korean War MemorialKorean War Memorial
Korean War Memorial

The next Memorial on my tour...
More Ancestors?More Ancestors?
More Ancestors?

It seems more of my ancestors may have participated in this war effort. I'm humbled. Perhaps Mom has some stories?
ThoughtsThoughts
Thoughts

Although these statues are larger than life, their spacing and placement leaves me with an impression of their being enveloped and overwhelmed--by both the monument and by the conflict itself.
Still Reflecting...Still Reflecting...
Still Reflecting...

It's amazing that they blasted these photographs into solid granite.
Our Flag...Our Flag...
Our Flag...

The flag under which all these remembered souls fought and drew inspiration.
The Vietnam MemorialThe Vietnam Memorial
The Vietnam Memorial

In many ways, this is the most poignant, bitter, dark, and inspiring monument on the Mall.
Final ReflectionFinal Reflection
Final Reflection

Interestingly, the individuality of names enshrined together, on this dark stone, presents the most reflective monument of the Mall--both figuratively and literally.


12th June 2007

Tears
This makes me cry, Spot. I cry for all those who gave their lives. I cry because your words and reflections are so poignant. I cry because there will always be war. I cry for lost ideals of democracy.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb