Getting Ready


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Although I have spent the past five months preparing for this journey - as each day passes I grow a little more anxious and nervous about my trip. I was selected to travel with a group of teachers form around the United States with the Asia Society. Our destination: China. Which part, you ask - all of it. 32 days of intense travel. Departure is slated for July 7th. As of now I am busying myself with all of the loose ends that accompany an extended trip away from home - buying supplies, stopping mail, converting money. It is all stressful and exciting at the same time - which Moleskine journal will truly be the best for my journey - blank, ruled, squared? Shoes - one pair for 32 days - not fair, especially since that one pair turns out to be a pair of Sambas. Must bring the right combination of reading material - not too serious, but engaging and long enough to withstand the journey: Lisey’s Story? The Brothers Karamazov? Maybe Catch 22? Perhaps I will actually read all of Moby Dick? Speaking of books - will I be able to obtain a copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows overseas - must I really wait until August? As the school year draws to an end, I must not only read papers, grade exams, write narratives - I must also pack and prepare mentally for the journey. Hard to believe that in just a few short weeks, I will be standing on that great wall. Wow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb