Greetings_From_Colorado


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
May 19th 2016
Published: May 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Touching the borders of Wyoming and New Mexico, my time in Colorado was a time in my life I’ll never forget. Not only due to the fact that it was during mid-winter and I was freezing my little toosh off, but because it’s one of the most beautiful places I’ve been fortunate enough to visit during winter time.

As a South African, the most snow I’d ever seen before my trip to Colorado was probably an inch of frost and mist combined to form what we would call “snow” - so you can imagine my surprise when I arrive in the Land of the Free with jeans and a pair of flimsy gloves, ready for winter!

I stayed in a small town called Montrose, where it’s safe enough to sleep with your doors unlocked and walk to the store without feeling threatened in any way. Luckily enough, I didn’t have to walk, but I sure had to find clothes a little bit more suited for Colorado – which is when I ended up in marvellous Macy’s. If you don’t know what Macy’s is, it’s one of my favorite stores, where they sell Starbucks to keep you warm while shopping
to Christmas music playing in the background. Remember, in South Africa, we celebrate Christmas during the heat of the summer months. In the United States, winter means Christmas is on its way. The best time of the year!

However, coming from a warm country, I had to learn a few things about winter I’d never experienced. Shoveling snow became one of those things you do if you wanted to leave the house, and trying to put on snow chains when going up the mountain was a normal thing you simply had to do if you wanted to come back down the mountain, alive.

Of course, snowboarding became something I fell in love with. Similar to surfing, without the imminent danger of being attacked by sharks, snowboarding was a great way to have fun in the snow and get a good workout in at the same time. Sure, you fall on your face a few times, but it’s all part of the fun!

The best part of my trip happened when I was fortunate enough to visit two small ski towns named Telluride and Aspen. Two very different vibes, but both amazing to see and experience. From taking
the gondola down the mountain and feeling the temperatures drop to the point where I had to blink my eyelids, deliberately, in order to keep my eyes from freezing, to visiting decadent chocolate stores and sweet perfume boutiques which will make any woman’s heart melt – regardless of the temperatures.

Telluride and Aspen made it onto my bucket list without even knowing I had a list, feeling as if I had truly seen two of the most beautiful towns in my life. So if I had to sum up in one sentence of why you absolutely have to add Colorado during winter to your bucket list, it would be because if you don’t, you might just miss out on a little piece of heaven right here on earth.

Tip: Always be prepared when traveling abroad. Pack warm clothes when visiting Colorado during winter - don’t show up in jeans and flimsy gloves, and keep in mind these 5 Common Travel Errors and How to Avoid Them in order to prevent yourself from freezing your little toosh off in the middle of winter deep in the mountains of cool Colorado.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.49s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb