Travels with Cali Chapter 33


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
March 11th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Glen Eyrie CastleGlen Eyrie CastleGlen Eyrie Castle

Glen Eyrie Castle in Colorado Springs. The site is next door to the Garden of the Gods.
August 11-16: Since Rachel's wedding took place so fast, there was no time to give her a bridal shower. We decided to hold a “house-warming” party instead and planned that for the 16th. Rachel and Julian moved into their apartment during this week and, of course, need all kinds of things to set up housekeeping. Family members put some finger foods together and I planned a few games for the party. We didn't have as many come as we would have liked, due to short notice, but it turned out to be a nice party.

August 17-September 2: Most of these days kind of ran together. Besides recouperating from all the wedding hoopla, I did some painting and writing. I sold several articles to a website, which really excited me. One day I drove around Pueblo and just took pictures. The city administrators have really done a lot to refurbish the downtown area. One of the older parts of town has been turned into a boutique shopping area with specialty shops and eating establishments. Many of the beautiful old building have been cleaned and/or restored. There are beautiful Victorian homes and buildings. Artwork is present in many sculptures and murals.
fireplace fireplace fireplace

This huge fireplace was in the entrance hall of the castle at Glen Eyrie. The suit of mail was brought from England.


Susan and I took one sightseeing trip during this time. She made reservations for high tea at Glen Eyrie in Colorado Springs. This is a fascinating place I didn't know existed. It was originally the home of a millionaire who built a castle on land near the “Garden of the Gods” Later the property was sold to The Navigators, a not-for-profit religious group that publishes scriptural literature. The house really does look like a small European castle with gorgeous grounds. They now hold retreats and conferences at this place and people can rent rooms in the castle. It is all furnished in beautiful antiques. Our tea was held in the elegant dining room overlooking some of the grounds.

With all the to-do about Rachel's wedding, I forgot to mention the horrible storm that happened on July 29! It was some of the fiercest lightning and thunder I have ever heard. Then it started hailing. The storm came on so fast I didn't have time to take in my awning. The hail was the size of golf balls and they rained down for about 15-20 minutes. The yard looked like it was covered with snow. The awning looked like
tea roomtea roomtea room

This is where we had our afternoon tea at Glen Eyrie
someone had taken a machine gun to it. I have always liked the sound of rain on the roof of the RV, but I must say the sound of golf-ball size hail is not pleasant! Cali and I were crouched under the table while the storm was going on!

Cali—I don't like thunder storms! This one really scared me; it was so-o-o-o loud! I ran to Mommy when the loud bangs started on the roof. I was glad when she huddled over me, petted me and talked during the loud bangs. I was shaking I was so scared. We stayed on the floor for a long time, too. After a while it got quiet and Mommy got up and opened the door. She went outside, but I didn't want to go at first. Then I did. There were balls all over the ground. I played with some of them, batting them with my paws, but they were cold!

I called the insurance company and filed my claim. I will definitely need a new awning! We learned later that the damage was very severe all over the area. Frank's new truck was full of dents, along with all
Guest RoomGuest RoomGuest Room

This room is one of the guest rooms available at the castle. Formerly it was part of the owner's daughter's suite.
the cars, new and used on all the car dealers lots in town. The farmers around the area lost a lot of the crops, mostly wheat. We learned to live with the sound of hammering on roofs for the next month! I was so shocked at the storm, I forgot to take pictures of the damage!!









Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Castle GroundsCastle Grounds
Castle Grounds

The landscaping of the grounds of Glen Eyrie was beautiful. There were moats (all dry now) and stone walls and bridges as well as lovely flowers and trees.
Pueble DowntownPueble Downtown
Pueble Downtown

This is one of several gorgeous fountains in downtown Pueblo, Colo.
County Government BuildingCounty Government Building
County Government Building

This is one of the restored buildings in Pueblo used now for the county government offices
Stately HomeStately Home
Stately Home

Many Victorian style houses are found in Pueblo. Some of them are built from the red stone found around the area.


26th March 2010

Great Pictures
I had forgotten all about how beautiful Colorado is. I remember the Garden of the gods. But it has been such a long time. And what a castle! I don't remember it when I was there. I can't imagine how cool it would have been to live there at one time. Glad you are having a good time. Stay careful! Amber : )

Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb