Fourth of July Trail (Indian Peaks Wilderness Area)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
May 26th 2006
Published: February 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So what happend to hikes 1 & 2? Well, I didn't have my digital camera for those trips, so there's no photographic record I'm afraid. Anyway, this hike represented my first of several trips to the Indian Peaks Wilderness Area (just south of Rocky Mountain National Park and northwest of Boulder). So far, I've tried this hike twice, and both times I haven't been able to make it to the end. The first time I attempted it, I got caught in a down-pour and decided to turn back. This time, there was simply too much snow still on the trail, and I didn't come properly equiped for the conditions. Regardless, this is still one of my favorite hikes thanks to the impressive mountain valley vistas and the ever-present ethereal sound of the wind blowing through the alpine passes above. I suggest that anyone attempting this hike should wait until late June/early July as most of the snow will be gone by then, but the beautiful run-off that intersects the trail in numerous places will still be running strong. For directions, follow this link: http://protrails.com/trail.php?trailID=102


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th February 2007

vicious snow beasts
somehow those beasts look awfully familiar ! ! ! ! are they perchance related to me ? ? ? ?

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb