First week in Colorado


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
September 12th 2021
Published: September 12th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Since many folks have asked where my travel blog is- assuming I'll have one. Or asking if I'll have one I am going to try to keep a weekly blog of my nomad journeys. No guarantees as this has never worked for me in the past.



Highlights from this week:

Saturday: I left Phoenix! I drove to Albuquerque and got caught in one of the worst slow downs I've seen on a highway- took over 2 hours to go 3.5 miles. Almost anyone could literally walk faster. I got into Albuquerque way later than expected but stayed in a master suite bedroom with it's own entrance off of someone's house on airbnb for the night. Copper did well in the car though he did wonder why we were driving for almost 11 hours (should have been 6.5 hours).

Sunday: Had a lovely breakfast with Tenacity and her wife Robin in Albuquerque along with a walk to University of New Mexico. I still really like Albuquerque but it just doesn't seem large enough to have the community I would be looking for to live long term. Weather was great (75*). Then it was a smooth sail to Parker, CO on I25 with no slowdowns. Took 7 hours!

Monday: After a long nights sleep I drove over to the west side of the metro area and hiked to panoramic point with Copper. Even though I've been at higher elevation quite a bit this summer I could still feel the lack of oxygen (and so could the doggo) being at 6500 ft. My airbnb in Parker is at 6300 ft, which is an additional 1000 ft from "mile high city".

Wednesday: Went on a date to Breckenridge Brewery. They have a really good pale ale on tap 😊

Thursday: Walked around the entire "pinery loop trail" which is about 4 miles and crosses just down the street from my airbnb. The area I'm in is just an expansive neighborhood of huge homes and the loop is sometimes the sidewalk of the streets and sometimes a gravel path through open field. It passes through 2 community parks and goes along side bingham lake.

Saturday: Explored some of central Denver. Went to the Denver bazaar- outdoor craft market near Sloan's lake. Tried to find a peaceful brewery that would allow dogs on the patio but I drove up to a couple and they were packed. Ended up getting some Chipotle :D


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb