Tommorrow is the big day


Advertisement
Published: August 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just got home last night. I had been at work for 2 weeks. Today is the last full day to get everything packed. It was really good to see that Scruffers was healthy and doing well. I have had a friend house sitting while I was gone and he is going to stay here for the next month as well. So the little girl will get her daily soft food! She has been following me around since I have been home. She likes to help pack.

I went to the bank and got cash. I ended up taking $200 in 1's and $250 in 5's. It was sort of suprising how big a stack of cash that is. I am having a hard time packing it. Not putting it in my check in bag though.

I know that the advice says to not pack your bags full but there was nothing I could do. I just barely was able to get everything in the suitcase and in the day pack. I was hoping to get the camcorder case in the day pack but that is not going to happen.

I have nothing but great things to say about the packing cubes though. And the folding sleeve. It has compressed everything down and its so organized. I love it. Nothing is loose in the bags. Everything is in its own bag.

Doug Foster is going to drive me down to Denver tommorrow morning. He was going shopping for his trip for Egypt so it worked out great. Its going to be several long days of travel. I leave Denver to LA. Ken and Karen are going to pick me up and we will go out for dinner. Looking forward to that. Then my flight on Air China leaves at 1:15 am tommorrow evening. It will be a 13 hour flight to Taiwan. Will be my longest flight ever. I think NZ was 11 hours. Then I have a 4 hour flight from Taiwan to Hanoi. Will be there on Friday.

I think I have everything packed and ready. Just going to clean the house a bit. Hopefully, all will go smoothly and I will update later this week.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th August 2009

Hi
looks like you are ready to go>
26th August 2009

Boss on Tour
So we've just seen you off in your cheesey easy-rider helmet and not so cheesey 2 ton bike and then Sun arrived in and he has just told us that the landmines haven't been entirely cleared from the roads round sapa- my advice: aim for the potholes!!! only kidding! have a great trip and be safe. as we say at home: 'Go n-éirigh an bóthar leat' - may the road rise to meet you (aka good luck). love dave and sarah.
22nd September 2009

Could I simplify like that?
First, I want you to have a great trip. Second, I don't know if I could pack that small but after a few days of carrying it around everywhere I would be glad I did. Third, Why can't we ever invent anything like packing cubes? Then we could be rich and travel the world. Have fun!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb