Sitting at LAX


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
August 20th 2009
Published: August 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Long day of travel. It was nice to be able to drive from Vail to Denver with Doug. It was much nicer to be with someone talking than just sitting on shuttle. My flight to LAX went smoothly and I actually arrived about 30 minutes ahead of schedule. I was very happy to have gotten the exit row. Its first class for poor people you know?

I made it to John Wayne airport in Irvine and Ken was just getting off work and picked me up about 30 min after I landed. We went to a brewery and had a beer and talked. Was good to see him.

Later, Karen made it home and we went to a very nice authentic Japanese rest. We had one of the bamboo rooms where we took our shoes off and sat around the table on the floor. The food was very good and it was just a pleasant break from traveling. They then drove me up to LAX.

I had my first scare of the trip. I went to Air China's desk and it was 8:30pm. A sign stated that they would not open the desk until 9:30. I settled down to wait for the hour till they opened up. 45 min later I happened to look over at the deperature board and saw only 1 flight fro Air China scheduled for departure tonight and that flight was to Beijing. I was heading to Taipai. Taiwan. No sign of that on the board!

I scrambled to pull my laptop out and looked up all my flight information and saw that the flight was still scheduled. At 9:30pm the agents began to take passengers and I had about another 15 min wait before I got to the counter. I showed him my information and he stated that I was booked on China Airlines and that this was Air China! I was several terminals away from where I needed to be. Ouch! I felt bad becuase its mistakes like that, that will cost you the million dollars in the amazing race.

It worked out though as a very nice ticket agent at China Airlines asked if I would like one of the exit row seats. So First Class for the Poor all the way to Taiwan! YAY.

Now I have a 3 hour wait before my flight takes off. So glad for the laptop though. Its really making the time fly by.

Signing out
Dave


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Eating in Bamboo roomEating in Bamboo room
Eating in Bamboo room

Rachel, Karen and Ken


20th August 2009

have a safe flight
it was great to see you last night! i'm stealing your pics~thanks! hope your flight is going well in the poor man's first class seat. looking forward to reading more of your adventures! ;o)

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb