Day 3: Denver


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
December 30th 2011
Published: December 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

First thing we did was head to T-Mobile to fix the internet connection problem I've been having. The guy fixed it in about 5 minutes. When he realised where I was from he said he knew someone from Tanzania. I think he meant Tasmania.

Next up was Sports Authority Field at Mile High - The home of the Denver Broncos. We had to wait a while for the tour to start so we headed to the gift shop, but unfortunately they had everything but the jersey I actually wanted. Apparently this jersey is hard to find across the city for some reason. Once the tour started it was fantastic. They took us to the media boxes, some corporate suites, the away team's locker room and onto the field. The away team's locker room was interesting. Basically they designed it to be as visually and mentally annoying to the away team. This includes old hot/cold dips salvaged from the old stadium, and carpet designed to disorient you if you look at it too long (like when the players tie their boots).

After this Anna took me to her indoor climbing gym. I did a couple of climbs but mostly spotted Anna. It was still pretty fun just doing something I hadnt done for a while.

For dinner Anna took me to her parent house where I got to meet her parents and her sister. Her sister in particular took delight in asking me random quetions about Australia. It was all in good fun though, she knows we don't actually have "Koala Bears" as pets.

After dinner Anna and I went to the Hyatt in Denver to have drinks at the 27th floor bar. The view was great and so were the drinks, and they werent even that pricey. $25 bought two cocktails plus tip. Tipping is still the one thing that confuses me a bit. From what I've worked out you tip directly to someone who waits on you at a table, or serves you drinks at a bar. If you order food at a counter (like Maccas or somewhere similar) then you dont tip, unless you just want to leave a tip in the tip jar. I guess I'll understand it eventually.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb