Denver


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
October 24th 2010
Published: October 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Howdy.

Lots to update about! Last time I wrote, Korina and I were still in St. Louis gearing up for our longest drive of the trip so far. We were definitely expecting the worst - 14 hours is a long time to be in the car - but it wasn't bad at all! Korina and I alternated which helped a lot. The drive was so straight compared to the drive from DC to Maryland...we basically kept the car in cruise control and took in the flat scenery of Missouri and Kansas! We left St. Louis around 7 and I drove the first five hours, at which point Korina and I were in desperate need of some food! We stopped at Cracker Barrel and grabbed a bite, and then Korina did the next five hours. I guess there isn't much to say about the scenery of the trip; it was flat, but sort of cool since Korina and I have never seen this part of the country before! We saw a lot of religious signs, and saw that they had a Wizard of Oz museum (and of course had to text Jim Blalock because he is obsessed with that movie). I took over the 3 1/2 hours of the trip, which put is in Colorado Springs around 7:30 after we passed through our second time zone. We hit a little bit of rain off and on as we got into Colorado, but it wasn't unbearable. When we got to Colorado Springs we met up with an Old Ferry Landing friend Hadley who attends Colorado College who was kind enough to let us stay in her room for the night on our way up to Denver! She took us to a volleyball game and got us some dinner before Korina and I passed out from exhaustion from our long day of driving in a straight line! Today we woke up early and hit the road around 9:30, which put us in Denver around 10:30. It was so great being able to see the mountains when we woke up and when we were driving... e couldn't really see them when we were driving the night before because of the clouds and the darkness! When we got to Denver we walked around town, got lunch, checked into the hotel, and then came back into town to take a MicroBrew tour around town and sample all the delicious beer that they have to offer! We actually met two nice girls (Brenda from Boston and Julie from Phoenix) who kept us company as we tried out different beers at different breweries 😊 The most interesting part of being in Denver today is that it was an official "Zombie Crawl" day, where HUNDREDS of people dress up and act like zombies and walk around the city!!!! These people were so committed to their costumes and acting zombie-like that some of them were actually pretty scary!!! It was very interesting and entertaining to say the least. After witnessing that fiasco, Kor and I ate a delicious dinner at Prime Bar in downtown Denver and headed back to the hotel to try and get some sleep...which is what I'm about to do as I write this so I'm ending this entry!! Love you all - I can't believe we will be in Cali next week!!!!!

-Jenn


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



24th October 2010

Denvaaaaah!!!
Hey Jenn, First time I checked your blog out!!! It's great. How long are you planning on staying in Denver. Phil and I have a niece who works at a HUGE bar by Coors Field. If you're there today I can check and see if she's working. She'd love some visitors from NH and would take care of you. Let me know if you need me to find anything out. Take care, keep us posted, and have fun!!! XO, Carp
24th October 2010

Miss you
Good-morning sweetie, Love the pictures, I'm so glad your having great fun, I look forward to seeing more!!!!
24th October 2010

I love it!
Hi Korina and Jen, Dad has sent your blog to me which he has received from Kiley. I has been great to read about all your visits - I envy you guys a trip across the country. It looks as though there is plenty of great beer out there. Too bad Papa isn't along, Kori. Keep up the great work . Love, Gramma
25th October 2010

Zombies
Hi Jenn If you see any zombies walking around the Grand Canyon, please do not assume that they are acting! Love you - Dad
26th October 2010

Wow, it really is flat before Co. Was it Hadley Bergh you stayed with? I know her parents and Auntie Lisa worked for a long time w/ Janet (her mom). Were the mountain roads scary? Pip was here yesterday and she's READY to go-under 2 wks! Scouty pants was her usual hilarious self....it's going to be interesting to see how she does w/ the new baby. Be safe and have a blast, xoxoxo to you both
28th October 2010

hello!
FINALLY got the messages...apparently I had to "accept" them before I could read them...weird. Just got to San Diego...I'm totally exhausted and need to get to bed soon - we got to the motel we were going to stay at for the week and it was soooooo sketchy and awful that we totally scrapped that place and are staying at a hotel for the night. Have lots of scheduled apt viewings for tomorrow. I'll keep you updated. Love you!!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb