My new home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
September 22nd 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

From La to Denver

My flight from LAX to DIA

On Sunday afternoon after all the travelling i had done for the past 16 hours i arrived at my final destination. DENVER. Home of the Rockies, the Broncos and 16th street. This is my home for the next 3 months =) I arrived at the airport and had some confusion as to where i would be meeting Andrew and having no idea what he looked like or anything this proved to be difficult. So i went to the games machine which has internet and put in my $2. To my dismay the flippn mouse didnt work! That machine ATE my money!! Then i went to the one next to it and quickly wrote down Andrews number because i so Blondly didnt write it down before i left, and made my way to the phone booth. They only took coins. Man, then i went and changed some notes to coins and called him. He was waiting near my baggage and we soon found each other.

Andrew and Lisa are an amazing pair who have helped me out so much so far. I am currently staying with them now but they had no room for the first two nights as Lisas dad was staying with them. They got me in touch with a couple called Sue and Kenny who have kids my age but have moved off to collage. I stayed with these two the first two nights and they were so hospitable and went out of their way to help me and make me feel comfortable! What a blessing.

I have posted some pictures of their home and the area they live which is a little suburb on the outskirts of Denver which was really pretty. On Monday after i arrived, i went for a walk to check out the area and ended up getting sunburnt!! If you didnt know already, Colorado has about 300 or so sunshine days per year so its usually shining bright and keeping you warm! I have really enjoyed the weather so far, it sure beats Aucklands schitzophrenic tempermental attitude!!! No..i love Auckland but it does get kinda annoying when you wear clothes for nice sunshine because when you wake up its looking beautiful and halfway through the day it turns on you and you feel like you have sat in a refrigerator for the past 20 mins. Not pleasant!

Well im outties,
Adios


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sue and Kenny's lovely abodeSue and Kenny's lovely abode
Sue and Kenny's lovely abode

And their awesome yellow pick up!
Cont'dCont'd
Cont'd

This style house is pretty popular over here.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb