Snowy Mile High City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
November 30th 2006
Published: November 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Denver CapitolThe Denver CapitolThe Denver Capitol

Apparently it's one of the steps that officially at the mile-high altitude. Beats me as to which one it is.
Just to say hello to everyone from Denver!

I arrived in Denver last night after a layover in Atlanta (Boring airport, by the way! I think I walked up and down the terminal about 10 times out of shear boredom). The Denver airport is nice...very well laid out from what I could tell, and the architecture is pretty neat, with the centre looking like a tent city and blending in with the mountains (or so I was told since I couldn't see the mountains through the snow).

And it was snowing when I arrived, and it's been snowing on/off all day. I ventured around downtown a bit, and my first impression is that the city is a lot like Calgary...a cowtown that's up and coming.
The Denver Art Museum is pretty neat...I didn't have time to go inside but from the outside it looked cool. And at the entrance is a sculpture of a spider, very similar to the one outside the National Art Gallery in Ottawa. I'm 99.9%!p(MISSING)ostive it's the same artist.

Well, there's not all that much to say for the moment...later this week the plans include Red Rocks, Garden of the Gods, and Pike's Peak if the weather permits. And of course getting a
Brrrr!Brrrr!Brrrr!

Even the bear's too cold!
massage or two, since my friend here is learning massage therapy.
For today, other than venturing around downtown, I delt with the many cats (I think I counted 7) at the place I'm staying, all very friendly, but the ducks have decided they're too friendly and are hiding in the backpack.

I'll update with photos and stories hopefully before I leave next Monday.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Art Museum, EntranceArt Museum, Entrance
Art Museum, Entrance

Here's the spider in snow!
Art Museum, OutsideArt Museum, Outside
Art Museum, Outside

At dusk, the shapes of the museum look really cool!


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb