Kebler Pass, Gunnison N Forest, Crested Butte, Colorado


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Crested Butte
August 31st 2018
Published: August 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

I still had a long drive from Monarch Pass to my first back-country camp on the West side of Kebler Pass. It was downhill all the way to Gunnison (US Hwy 50) where I got food and other supplies, ice, and petrol for three days of camping in the beautiful aspen trees. From the center of Gunnison I took Colorado Hwy 135 North to Crested Butte.

I used to take a simple first left (West) turn to get on Gunnison County hwy 12 to Kebler Pass. Now Crested Butte has grown 1000 percent and I could not see a sign where to turn West with all the extra streets. I asked a nice local and he showed me where to turn. Leaving Crested Butte city limits I saw the first sign to Kebler Pass. Now the old dirt road is paved with asphalt all the way to Kebler Pass before the dirt road and the unlimited free back country camping, on the West side, in private solitude in the great trees.

Driving down hill West of the Pass was very nice and the back-country camping had unlimited solitude in nice trees. I was spent after a very long day
Kebler PassKebler PassKebler Pass

with dirt trail to first free camp
driving so I made camp. It was nice and cool out, so I ate some trail mix and drank some wine from the abbey. I just sat and enjoyed the trees and the gentle wind.

The next morning I had my morning coffee. I broke camp a little early so I could get to Lost Lake Campground before noon to shoot the Beckworth Mts and Lost Lake with a good sun angle. I enjoyed driving Westbound through the wonderful aspen trees.

I got to the junction of Forest Sevice road 706 to Lost Lake. Going uphill there were many potential free backcountry camps. One I camped at long ago I call nice camp, cuz of a nice running creek at that camp site with cold water to rest my feet. I continued uphill to Lost lake. There was only one free parking area reserved for fishermen. I had a long walk to the far side of Lost Lake for the best viewing (and pics) of Lost lake and the two peaks of the Beckworth Mts. There was a small walking trail there by the lake for the best pics. I did not bother any campers or photographers as
Kebler PassKebler PassKebler Pass

first free camp; I never camped there for the better camps downhill West
I enjoyed my view. I walked back to my parked truck and drove back downhill to the main Forest Service road, AKA Gunnison County 12.

I crossed over Gunnison 12 to a large open area where people camp. I was getting things in order in my truck as some guys on horseback were driving a herd of sheep down the road. After a while I drove Westbound and found a simple (second) camp for the night. Today was an easy day for me. Tomorrow would be a very long day with nice stops along the way.

I had a short coffee breakfast as I had so much to see today before my next camp near Moab, Utah. I drove Wesbound by Marcellina Mt where the road went downhill where the best trees were gone. I could clearly see Gunnison MT and Mt Lamborn from the distance. Then I could see the neat Ragged Mts as I left the Gunnison National Forest.

I drove by a few private ranches, then a very nice private ranch resort. I was overlooking Anthrocite Creek and the Ragged Mts on the way downhill.

At the bottom by Anthrocite Creek was Erickson Springs pay Picnic Area and Campground. This very nice place was a detached section of the Gunnison National Forest. There were many places to park to get out to enjoy the creek and views of the Ragged Mts. There were a few fisherman there in the creek. Though isolated (and with much to do today) I did not stay long at this nice pay area.

Crossing the bridge leaving the Gunnison National Forest I turned West on Colorado 133 and entered the Gunnison River draining the Anthrocite Creek. (Hmmm..., could there be coal deposits nearby?)

I did not drive far Westbound and saw the Hawksnest Coal Mines. All the coal was sent to the Olivar power plant. (Anthrocite?)

Around Paonia there were a number of fine fruit tree orchards. Like in other Colorado camping trips I stopped at Stahl Orchards Farm Market; but I think the other orchards sell very good fruit also. Stahl Orchards in Paonia had a great selection of very good fruits...great survival food! I made my purchase and drove westbound. When I got to quaint town of Austin on CO hwy 92 I deeply regretted not buying more fruit from Stahl Orchards.
first campfirst campfirst camp

in the aspen trees

At Delta, CO I found a good store for petro and supplies. There I got on US Hwy 50 and cruised to Grand Junction, CO. After I passed the Colorado River I made a convenient stop at Orchard Mesa cuz I forgot to get ice. They had petro and anything else you would need for camping in the back-country. I followed the signs for Interstate Hwy 70 West and shortly left Colorado.

Completed Kebler Pass and Colorado Blog


Additional photos below
Photos: 133, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

first campfirst camp
first camp

"goofing off" enjoying the trees


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb