News from the Slopes


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Breckenridge
January 25th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola, amigos!

No, I haven't learned spanish out here. I wish. So back to english.

Once again I've been kind of slow in providing an update on my adventures out here, so I apologize for that and am blogging in response to requests for news ; )

Things are all going really well out here. We've had 51" of snow so far this January (that's pretty good!) and the base is 55" mid-mountain. It's been warmer than December, with temperatures hovering in the 20s and 30s over the last couple weeks, so my toes are no longer in danger of frostbite. Thank goodness! I was getting tired of -10 degree mornings. The slopes are great, and I've been able to get over to Keystone, A-Basin, and even Copper and Vail (once each) whenever I need a change of scenery or new challenges. Copper Mtn. is one of my new favorite ski areas, with lots of really long, steep mogul runs. Alpine paradise! It's also only an hour by bus (25 minutes by car). I've been skiing a lot with various friends from work and my new roommates...which brings me to my major news.

I moved! Thank god. Things were deteriorating quickly with the girlfriend of my last roommate - it's a petty, irritating tale which I see no need to rehash - and suffice it to say that I decided to get out before it got worse. I lost my entire security deposit to do it, but the result was well worth it - I moved right into the center of town on January 2 and am now living in an adorable, restored historic home 4 blocks from Main Street, 6 minutes walk from work. I have four other roommates (all guys - 2 from PA!) and we all get along really well. They are SO much more fun than my last roommates! I have my own room, fully furnished, and the rent is actually cheaper than my old place. And another perk - no more mile-long walk uphill! Thank god. Now I can go out at night and have fun without worrying about freezing to death on the way home...

In other news, I had a visit from my good friends Chuck and Jessica from Georgetown about a week ago, and I'm hoping to return the favor and visit them in Jackson Hole sometime later this season. We'll see how much money I can save... I've always wanted to ski there, though, so hopefully I'll find a way. My friend Dana might come visit me in March, and my parents and younger brother are coming in less than 2 weeks to ski with me! I'm so excited to see them, and I've been looking forward to this for a while. We should have a blast!

My Peace Corps application, fingerprints, and security clearance forms were all received, so I'm waiting on my first interview as I study (slowly) for my GRE. At the rate I'm going, I'll probably take it in June! LOL. I'm staying really busy with work and skiing, and in addition I started taking a pottery class on Monday nighs at the local college. It's right around the block from my house, and I'm having a blast! I'm also still going to my knitting group at Tea Time Quilting every Tuesday morning, which is always fun and gives me my weekly quota of gossip. At work I'm usually able to catch all the major sports games I want to watch (the Hoyas really need to step it up!!!) and I get along great with my co-workers. Life is good!

To those whose emails I've been ignoring...I'm sorry. I don't have internet at my new place, and I never feel like staying at work after an 8-hour shift to spend time on the computer. I'm notoriously bad at keeping in touch even when I DO have internet, so please excuse me! I think of you all frequently, though, and hope you're well. Miss you!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.8kb