Holiday Greetings from Breck!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Breckenridge
December 24th 2008
Published: December 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Friends and Family...

I've been remiss in blogging lately, but time flies when you're having fun! I can't believe I've been here 1 1/2 months already. It feels like so little time has passed! I want to wish you all Happy Holidays on this Christmas Eve, and hope you're with your families during my favorite part of the year. The only bad part about being out here is that I'm not with my friends and family (you!) but I'm thinking of you right now.

Life in Brecken(fridge), Colorado has been good to me. It's really cold here (-5 this morning on my way to work!) but the snow is great. The whole resort is finally open, now that we have enough snow, and we've certainly had plenty of it this month. In fact, December has benefited from the 3rd-highest monthly snowfall in 8 years, and we've had 84" up to this point. I woke up on Tuesday morning to 8" of fresh powder on my deck, and there was even more up on the mountain! The skiing is fabulous, and I usually get 5-6 runs in every day on my lunch break. If you guys come out this way, let me know, because I would love to see you! I'm getting to know the mountain pretty well, and can show you all the good places to ski.

My days pretty much consist of working and skiing....whenever I'm not working, I'm on the slopes. I get 2 days off a week, and 2-hour lunch breaks most days that I use to ski. My co-workers are great, and I really like my job. There are about 10 of us who work in the ski shop (I'm the only girl!) and we all get along really well. Sometimes I ski with them during lunch/days off, and the rest of the time I'm by myself. I met a fellow Georgetown grad the other day on the chairlift, though, so you never know who you will meet!

No real news to report other than what is recounted above.... The only report that matters up here is the snow report! But I wanted to let you all know that I am happy, and getting some good skiing in, and thinking of you at this holiday season. I miss you all, and wish you very happy holidays and a healthy, happy 2009!
Ski AreaSki AreaSki Area

Seen from the main square in "downtown" Breck

Love,

Robyn




Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

TeatimeTeatime
Teatime

This is the knitting/quilting store where I go to knitting group every Tuesday morning from 10-12am. I love it!
Ski Country Resorts & SportsSki Country Resorts & Sports
Ski Country Resorts & Sports

This is where I work!
Breckenridge Ski AreaBreckenridge Ski Area
Breckenridge Ski Area

This is the view from my road on the way to work every morning
Colorado SuperchairColorado Superchair
Colorado Superchair

On the way up the hill!
High-Country MarshlandsHigh-Country Marshlands
High-Country Marshlands

I took a walk around these marshes outside Frisco in mid-November on a rare 60-degree day.
The ShopThe Shop
The Shop

This is where we hang out...and tune our skis ; )
Baldy Mtn.Baldy Mtn.
Baldy Mtn.

Seen from the top of Peak 8
T-BarT-Bar
T-Bar

On my way up the T-Bar on Peak 7 the day the lift opened. Fresh tracks!
Gerrardo, Ryan & KennyGerrardo, Ryan & Kenny
Gerrardo, Ryan & Kenny

Two of my co-workers and my store manager, respectively. All great guys.
XC Skiing!XC Skiing!
XC Skiing!

On my 23rd birthday I went cross-country (XC) skiing with my friend Merri and her awesome dog Alli.


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb