Sea Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
September 22nd 2011
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 36.8796, -124.541

Hubby & I "rolled" awake this morning before 4:00 am. When I say rolled... I mean... almost rolled off the bed. I immediately felt the boat tipping side to side - something I've never felt on any ship or boat of any size before. Hubby quickly realized he had to lay on his back and I had to lay on my stomach in order to not feel nauseous. We let the swaying put us back to sleep. Unfortunately, after we were awake, feeling fine, and at breakfast around 8:00, we realized many other cruisers were not so lucky. Several cruisers were not feeling well due to the rocking of the ship. They had the upper decks closed for a bit this morning as the boat was rocking and rolling and it was slowly raining outside. There were vomit bags by the elevators. Walking around the ship was like walking half drunk but we did okay. We ate and came back to the room and I tidied our little room aka home for the next 12 days. I think I took a nap after that. Hubby soon joined me. Isn't vacation grand?? Why, yes... it is! 😊 We finally decided to wake-up around 2:00 pm and head to the Lido Grill for some cheeseburgers, chicken fingers, and chili cheese fries. I think this was hubby's favorite meal so far. I wanted dessert so I ordered room service - chocolate cake and Diet Coke. I'm not a big chocolate fan but it was scrumptious.

We ate and roamed the ship some more. Have I mentioned how beautiful this ship is? It is sooo beautiful. The ship is not a typical glitzy, 80's style, in-your-face cruise ship – it is a rather beautiful, ornate, almost Italian-like ship with gorgeous paintings and Roman paintings or figurines everywhere. It is truly the prettiest ship I've ever seen. After yet another day of pretty much nothing going on, we got ready for our last dinner on this 3-night voyage.

Dinner was another night of good conversation. We sat at a table with two other couples around our age – couples we really like. All of us are celebrating an anniversary (2 or 3 years). There is a couple that both work the evening shift at Boeing and live just outside of Seattle and another couple from Canada that are hilarious. It's been good conversation with the four of them both evenings.

We walked to one of the lounges and enjoyed a late night adult comedy show which was pretty good and not too raunchy and then came back and went to sleep. Another restful and nice day of vacation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.442s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb